Prerelease v0.200.250

    Discussion in 'Game News' started by schema, Dec 10, 2017.

    1. Scypio

      Joined:
      Sep 18, 2014
      Messages:
      442
      I never said it was a good thing.
       
    2. LoSboccacc

      Joined:
      Jul 22, 2013
      Messages:
      75
      ah and the next best issue is that since everyone will mod stabilizer to this or that distance and reactor instability to this or that percentage, migrating ships across servers will be night impossible
       
      • Agree Agree x 1
    3. Spartan-228

      Joined:
      Feb 10, 2014
      Messages:
      303
      I am very worried that if the problems with this new update, are not resolved one way or another very soon. Most of the community is going to leave and never come back.
       
      • Agree Agree x 7
    4. kiddan

      kiddan Supporter of Critical Thought

      Joined:
      May 12, 2014
      Messages:
      1,039
      Let's hope the lack of information and/or direction change is from holidays. Saber said last stream that there should be a new dev blog that will hopefully arrive before next week, so we'll see... =3
       
      • Friendly Friendly x 1
    5. Jeffenuva

      Joined:
      Jan 17, 2015
      Messages:
      32
      Missing Cat.png

      I miss my cat!! :)
       
      • Friendly Friendly x 3
      • Like Like x 2
      • Funny Funny x 2
    6. Dire Venom

      Joined:
      Feb 27, 2014
      Messages:
      987
      If we share this across all the forums maybe we'll find out lost cat :, (
       
    7. Jeffenuva

      Joined:
      Jan 17, 2015
      Messages:
      32
      I'm trying to test build a ship with two reactors - to switch between different chambers. There doesn't seem to be a hotbar switch for this? You can switch between them in the ship config menus, but if I wanted to switch from rapid FTL to stealth it would be convenient to have a hotbar way to switch?
       
      • Agree Agree x 3
    8. Levarith

      Joined:
      Jul 20, 2013
      Messages:
      62
      so... why does my base explode from a single 6k (2 missile/2 beam/ 2 overdrive) missile strike... I have positive integrity across the board and 850k shields (is a small station) yet when a pirate hits it with a single missile things begin exploding for no reason that I can figure out... HELP?!?!?!?!
       
    9. Captain Skwidz

      Joined:
      Jun 14, 2017
      Messages:
      121
      Check if your shields, reactors, and stabilizers aren't sticks or try increasing integrity. Or it could be a bug in the current build.
       
    10. Jeffenuva

      Joined:
      Jan 17, 2015
      Messages:
      32
      Salvage arrays are always big groups of sticks, and so will have awful integrity?
       
      • Agree Agree x 2
    11. Adaxia

      Joined:
      Jun 10, 2013
      Messages:
      15
      Wow I didn't even think of that. Yeah, salvager ships got an even bigger middle finger than I thought.
       
      • Agree Agree x 2
    12. Dire Venom

      Joined:
      Feb 27, 2014
      Messages:
      987
      How is this Integrity feature at all enjoyable???
      Yes, spaghetti was a problem in theory, but since when he's anyone actually encountered one? Not in my 5 years of playing.

      It simply was not worth the crushing blow you dealt to creativity and player enjoyment.
      It is not intuative to newer players and only subtracts from the game.

      It's like somone has a sore hand, so you whack it with a sledgehammer and then give them some pain relief -_-
       
      • Agree Agree x 4
    13. Captain Fortius

      Joined:
      Aug 10, 2013
      Messages:
      174
      Thing is, so many system blocks end up being lines or flat sheets, like weapon barrels or a layer of shield capacitors under the hull, or those few blocks inside a diagonal wing filled with whatever... This integrity deal doesn't just hurt spagetthi, it hurts building stuff in general.

      They could have just made free-floating block groups start dying off. But I suppose that was too simple.
       
      • Agree Agree x 5
    14. Captain Skwidz

      Joined:
      Jun 14, 2017
      Messages:
      121
      Actually I don't think integrity affects salvagers, cannons, and other things like that. IIRC it only affects shields, reactors, and stabilizers. But yeah, I do agree that this integrity thing is too restrictive.
       
      • Agree Agree x 3
    15. Kelpaz

      Joined:
      Jan 31, 2014
      Messages:
      94
      Actually it does affect cannons which made it very hard to rebuild my Stream cannon setup, I've also have diagonal wings with suddenly explosive components.

      When will this madness end?
       
      • Like Like x 1
      • Agree Agree x 1
    16. NTIMESc

      Joined:
      May 18, 2015
      Messages:
      176
      TIS.gif
       
      • Funny Funny x 7
    17. Az14el

      Az14el Lord Procrastinator General

      Joined:
      Apr 25, 2015
      Messages:
      782
      shipbuilding just got quite a bit more complicated, especially regarding refitting existing hulls & tweaking systems within a set hull
      restricting block placement relative to other blocks already placed is quite a bit more frustrating, when it was supposed to be a quality of life change for those rebuilding/refitting ships?

      I'd say that's an objective that we've fallen well short of for this update.

      Another critique i have is (assuming i've not run into an unfortunate and persistant bug), shield recharge while under fire is completely disabled? why? shield recharge has always been one of the most essential stats in combat even in a meta dominated by long range hit scan beam weapons, it added a major layer of unpredictability in a given fight because it wasn't a stat displayed on nav & required reconnaissance & guesswork to accurately gage. I read a quote from a community mentor recently stating that all shield regen in combat was "already basically zero" or to similar effect, which is factually wrong & worrying, it's, effectively, between ~13 & 24% of tooltip rate multiplied by 1.<ion%>, and combined with mobility & player innacuracy/indecision that's usually the vast majority of mitigation in combat. Are we just done with that altogether?
       
      #737 Az14el, Jan 21, 2018
      Last edited: Jan 21, 2018
      • Agree Agree x 3
    18. troll82

      Joined:
      Apr 9, 2017
      Messages:
      7
      i got several 2kmas miners, all of them are unable to function under new system cause i dont have the room for the chambers and/or the new shield setup. id say Welcome to matchstick starmade. ships with 121000 recharge on max reactorboost area bit over 200blocks long. me personally thinks that is crazy as hell(not in a good way). Time to change the system schine thinks and says, but they actually made the game even worse to play. Beside that the reactorpoints for a fully boosted reactor with failsafe is 60%, we cant even make ships work with the half of the systems we had before nomatter the size of the ship you make. 40% reactorpoints you cant even get a fully functional fast recharging jumpdrive within the recharge rate of the ship.
       
      #738 troll82, Jan 21, 2018
      Last edited: Jan 21, 2018
      • Agree Agree x 2
    19. Zoolimar

      Joined:
      Aug 14, 2017
      Messages:
      189
      It is not a bug. Shield recharge is disabled after hit for 5 seconds. You could lower this time with chambers to 1 second.
       
    20. Az14el

      Az14el Lord Procrastinator General

      Joined:
      Apr 25, 2015
      Messages:
      782
      so long as beams are still hitscan and turrets can be logic activated (still allows sequenced reloads for full uptime max range weapons) that says zero recharge uptime against an effective combat ship to me
       
      • Agree Agree x 6
    Loading...
    Similar Threads - Prerelease
    1. schema
      Replies:
      31
      Views:
      2,619