Devblog 18th June 2017

    Discussion in 'Game News' started by schema, Jun 18, 2017.

    1. MacThule

      Joined:
      Jan 31, 2015
      Messages:
      1,258
      I can't imagine how balancing a player tool by making construction more tedious will improve the game. There are better ways to restrict oversized construction, IMO, than to make things more frustrating and monotonous for everyone.
       
      • Agree Agree x 3
    2. Ithirahad

      Ithirahad Arana'Aethi

      Joined:
      Nov 14, 2013
      Messages:
      4,071
      I don't need to. I'll just build myself a quick miner and mine up materials, then make a temp-base with factories and a shipyard. It doesn't take 'everything I have in my blueprints' or any fancy advanced building tools to do that. Once I have that shipyard I can make all my other stuff.

      In any case, I don't support the placement dimension bars and undo/redo being limited to shipyards, but all the other features, including the new Fill? Sure.
       
      • Agree Agree x 1
    3. StormWing0

      StormWing0 Leads the Storm

      Joined:
      Jun 26, 2015
      Messages:
      2,043
      Well if it was limited to shipyards and admin powers there is one other thing that'd need it and that'd be stations. That said I don't see much issue limited certain build mode tools to certain things yet unless it's an unreasonable limitation. Also like some players I have a basic miner and a basic station with everything setup already so odds of me having an issue with things are rather low.
       
      • Like Like x 1
      • Agree Agree x 1
    4. DevajC

      Joined:
      Aug 25, 2016
      Messages:
      44
      I like the idea of having a reset button for brush sizes because in my world I have the size limit set to 100 instead of 10 and clicking the left most side always sets it to 12 or 7 or a low number and setting it lower requires me to click and drag. its not a big feature but i would really appreciate having a dedicated reset over having to click and drag three individual slider down to zero each time I want to use advanced build mode. All about avoiding those little annoyances :P
       
    5. Lone_Puppy

      Joined:
      Mar 12, 2015
      Messages:
      1,082
      Wow nice work! :)
       
      • Agree Agree x 1
    6. alterintel

      alterintel moderator

      Joined:
      May 24, 2015
      Messages:
      848
      I'm a little disappointed with the fill tool. Don't get me wrong it's absolutely awesome, I guess I just had unrealistic expectations.

      This was my biggest expectation, but I guess I mis-read this and assumed I would be able to use this to paint the hull of my ship a different color very easily. Unfortunately this is just as limited as the replace function. Each individual hull shape (wedge, tetra, slab, etc.) is treated as a different type of block. If this remains the case, then using the replace function in conjunction with a large build area is still the best way to change the color of your ships hull. Also the fill tool doesn't seam to work with symmetry. So any fills you do on one side will not be done on the mirror side.

      I hope these can get fixed soon so that the game can get the power update started. I can't wait.
       
      • Agree Agree x 3
    7. MrGrey1

      Joined:
      Feb 10, 2017
      Messages:
      86
      [QUOTE='Is that really needed? A reset button next to the slider, or clicking in the left most area of a slider, would both do the same thing. And clicking in the left most part of a slider works so to me this seems to be unnecessary.
      [/QUOTE]
      Well yeah if only one slider is up there's not much use in a reset however if all three sliders have been adjusted then a single reset button would be much faster. Having to target those little sliders 3 times in a row... or a single click on a button.

      soemthing fubar on the quote. /shrug.
       
      • Agree Agree x 1
    8. Criss

      Criss Social Media Director

      Joined:
      Jun 25, 2013
      Messages:
      2,177
      Is it really any different than what current builders do when they want to fill up space? It's faster, it doesn't make the game easier. It takes time off our builds which IMO is fine. Our ships can literally take months to finish. We can introduce challenge elsewhere. Chances are if you use this tool on systems that matter, like power, you will be messing up the balancing of the ship.
       
      • Agree Agree x 5
    9. therimmer96

      therimmer96 The Cake Network Staff Senior button unpusher

      Joined:
      Jun 21, 2013
      Messages:
      3,566
      tbh... I feel like buildmode as a whole should be restricted to shipyards unless in creative mode... but I hate myself.
       
    10. AtraUnam

      AtraUnam Maiden of crashes

      Joined:
      Oct 15, 2013
      Messages:
      1,113
      Would this compromsie satisfy everybody?

      -buildmode is always available in shipyards, creative and admin.
      -buildmode is available on both ships and stations provided they have full SHP
      -buildmode is not available on strucutres that do not have full SHP

      This would allow easy building of starter ships without having to 'settle down' while still preventing the main concern for abuse of buildmode that is slapping down instant armor slabs/repairs on damage ships.
       
      • Agree Agree x 1
      • Creative Creative x 1
    11. SchnellBier

      Joined:
      Sep 10, 2014
      Messages:
      187
      Restricting build mode is not a good idea. I would rather restrict spawning ships from blueprints. Why make building harder if it takes ages anyways? If you want to pump out ships like a factory then you´ll need a shipyard.

      Edit: Forgot that repairing ships easily should also be a shipyard feature.
       
      #51 SchnellBier, Jun 20, 2017
      Last edited: Jun 20, 2017
      • Agree Agree x 3
      • Like Like x 1
    12. ZombieMouse

      Joined:
      Jun 29, 2016
      Messages:
      80
      I agree also that it's not a good idea to restrict build-mode features to shipyards.

      That might work for single player, but the realities of multiplayer can be rather different. For example:

      On Sun-World, space stations are restricted to 1km across. Our faction has 14 members. If everyone was online at once and everyone wants to build then that would be a real pain in the arse. At present, one large shipyard is fine for us to share. But restricting things to shipyards would mean practically the entire home base would have to be built out of shipyards, which is not what we want, not creative, and forces design choices on the players - which I don't believe is something Shine wants to do.
       
      • Agree Agree x 4
    13. DevajC

      Joined:
      Aug 25, 2016
      Messages:
      44
      Yeah thats fine if you want to play that way but I personally dont want to. I never make stations unless im building a house to rp in or something. I dont want to be forced to settle down or waste resources on a station. I could make a copy paste shipyard that I just plop down each time I want to build but that sounds boring and anti creative. I agree with fill being restricted to ship yards though but that is a slippery slope. And what I meant about everything in your blueprints was that if you tried to recreate all your blueprints by hand you would get bored fast. Or atleast I know I would. Restricting to build mode to shipyards just seems like an unnessecary obstacle people must overcome that not everyone would even find fun. Like think about the new player experience: I join a server for the first time and make a small ship by hand and fly it to a planet to check em out. I mine some asteroids on the way and with my new found cash I realize the creative potentials I have for my ship! I want to build a 3 deck school bus that shoots missles out of the wheels. But if I want to build it faster/place down a large amount of blocks/not spend 2 hours experimenting with all the blocks by hand I have to go mine for a long ass time until I can create a station, supply it with power, buy and construct a shipyard that I will constanly have to expand upon because I want to build larger and larger, and all of a sudden I show up on the map for anyone to come attack me(unless i want to add shields to my shipyard) I have to overcome all these obstacles just to build larger. All of this can be avoided if I know what im doing and use the same template over and over but thats no fun. I would be turned off in a second. Not the right way to add realism. What do you think the major benefits would be?

      I dont think it would decrease the number of large ships at all to be honest. You would just have an extra week before they show up after a server reset. Smaller ships are more fun imo but this isnt the right way to balance it. Hope a dev pops in for some input
       
      #53 DevajC, Jun 20, 2017
      Last edited: Jun 20, 2017
    14. MacThule

      Joined:
      Jan 31, 2015
      Messages:
      1,258
      Just make it a server option to restrict advanced build to shipyards or not.
       
      • Agree Agree x 1
    15. kulbolen

      Joined:
      Jan 4, 2015
      Messages:
      613
      no
      --- Updated post (merge), Jun 20, 2017, Original Post Date: Jun 20, 2017 ---
      absolutely do not restrict adv build options to shipyards, including fill tools, until shipyards actually function properly. its going to be really bad for servers when everyone actually starts using their buggy yards instead of 99% either ignoring them or not building them.

      be a nice config option to turn on or off, but this will murder servers atm.
       
    16. DevajC

      Joined:
      Aug 25, 2016
      Messages:
      44
      I agree but you should still be able to spawn ships with blueprints provided they are under a certain mass. So you can still have your spawn miners and what have you and little novelty ships without havibg to settle. 300 sounds good.
       
      • Agree Agree x 1
    17. MaartenAll

      Joined:
      Oct 15, 2015
      Messages:
      48
      Now that a new update has been released, it seems like a good moment to ask: do you have any idea on how long it will still take before we get something that should look like a power update trown at us? I don't want you to rush things, but I have realy pulled back out of this game because I don't want to do any work that I will have to replace in a few weeks.
       
      • Agree Agree x 1
    18. ZombieMouse

      Joined:
      Jun 29, 2016
      Messages:
      80
      You and 95% of players I think ;)

      In fact, it's all the more reason for Shine to make sure they get that right. If they have to redo it again it's going to be even more terrible for the online-player-community than it already is.
       
      • Like Like x 1
      • Agree Agree x 1
    19. Ithirahad

      Ithirahad Arana'Aethi

      Joined:
      Nov 14, 2013
      Messages:
      4,071
      Then Schine will just have to actually fix the shipyard issues for once. :P
       
    20. Scypio

      Joined:
      Sep 18, 2014
      Messages:
      477
      Now put 20 ams turrets on your shipyard's built space ship and tell me how fun this is.
       
    Loading...