Having Problems with factions on my server.

    Joined
    Jul 1, 2013
    Messages
    13
    Reaction score
    3
    Having a weird problem with my server in that seemingly no matter what I do I cannot get any factions other than the old ones to spawn. When I start up a Singleplayer game or my own Dedicated server the factions are there first time no issues, but when I set up my server through TheSmelter.com there are no factions. I have posted a ticket with them and they have suggested I post my question here as well.
    Apparently the first world I had set up had the factions listed in the npcFactions folder but I still couldn't see them. Now after a few world resets nothing at all shows up in that folder. Have reset the server completely as well to see if that sorted anything out and still nothing. Not sure what else to do here :S any help would be greatly appreciated as the whole reason for setting this server up was so that me and my friends could play the game with these new enemies without me having to be online to host the server.
    Thanks in advance :)
     
    Joined
    Jan 28, 2015
    Messages
    494
    Reaction score
    149
    You need to manually copy the npcFactions folder to the server on the smelter. The map conversion npc initiation process only works on Windows based machines..…

    Ask OmegaGame the current Admin on Brierie for additional info. We had the same problem there.
     
    Joined
    Jul 17, 2013
    Messages
    1,439
    Reaction score
    207
    You need to manually copy the npcFactions folder to the server on the smelter. ..
    you seem to be affected by a bug and have to copy those files manualy indeed.

    ... The map conversion npc initiation process only works on Windows based machines...
    Batavium ... not generally. it was tested to work on several Linux systems before release without problems. sadly a few are not working as expected -> ⚓ T2108 NPC Assets fail to copy into world
    so far we do not know what exactly is causing it. but it was only reported from Linux as of now.
     
    Joined
    Jul 1, 2013
    Messages
    13
    Reaction score
    3
    You need to manually copy the npcFactions folder to the server on the smelter. The map conversion npc initiation process only works on Windows based machines..…

    Ask OmegaGame the current Admin on Brierie for additional info. We had the same problem there.
    Thanks for the response but I have not been able to copy any of the files over, it seems to be an issue with TheSmelters ftpclient as it just takes me to an error screen. I have told them about it and hopefully will be able to copy the files over if they are able to fix it.

    EDIT: So the guys at TheSmelter have addressed the issue of not being able to copy the files over by doing it themselves manually, however the Factions are still not showing up in-game. They are looking into a solution.
     
    Last edited:
    Joined
    Jan 28, 2015
    Messages
    494
    Reaction score
    149
    EDIT: So the guys at TheSmelter have addressed the issue of not being able to copy the files over by doing it themselves manually, however the Factions are still not showing up in-game. They are looking into a solution.
    Be sure to give some feedback as to what caused it once you found a solution. This kind of info is most handy to have in helping others fix their NPC problems.
     
    Joined
    Jan 29, 2015
    Messages
    191
    Reaction score
    284
    Thanks for the response but I have not been able to copy any of the files over, it seems to be an issue with TheSmelters ftpclient as it just takes me to an error screen. I have told them about it and hopefully will be able to copy the files over if they are able to fix it.

    EDIT: So the guys at TheSmelter have addressed the issue of not being able to copy the files over by doing it themselves manually, however the Factions are still not showing up in-game. They are looking into a solution.
    Out of curiosity.. When they attempted to manually move the factions over into the Server Database folder.. did they copy the (npcFactions) folder from Starmade>Data>(npcFactions).. Then pasted it into the server_database>(TheSmelter) folder?
     
    Joined
    Jul 17, 2013
    Messages
    1,439
    Reaction score
    207
    copying the files alone wont do .. they have to create the blueprint folders and unzip the blueprint.zip archive for the proper faction to them then
     
    Joined
    Jul 1, 2013
    Messages
    13
    Reaction score
    3
    Be sure to give some feedback as to what caused it once you found a solution. This kind of info is most handy to have in helping others fix their NPC problems.
    Hi, sorry I can't offer much in the way of support. They have sorted the problem for me and upon thanking them asked if they could explain what it was they did on behalf of you guys. I got this response:

    "It's a bit complicated and posting on the forums wouldn't help anyone, I'm afraid.

    We found out that the bug doesn't appear on all of our nodes, so we moved your server to another working node, generated a new world, and moved the server back to the original node.

    We still don't know why this only happens to some of the nodes, as they have exactly the same setup.

    This bug only appeared in the latest game release.

    The developers are aware of the situation and we have provided logs and feedback to them, so hopefully they can come up with a permanent solution soon. "

    At any rate I am very appreciative of all the feedback from this forum and hope that maybe this information was useful to you in some way. :)
     
    • Like
    Reactions: Batavium