1. We've removed some functionality from SMD in preparation for a migration to new forum software.

    StarMade v0.18999 - Some serious optimizations and balance changes

    Discussion in 'Game News' started by schema, Mar 2, 2015.

    1. Mered4

      Mered4 Space Triangle Builder

      Joined:
      Jan 12, 2014
      Messages:
      662
      [​IMG]
       
      • Funny Funny x 3
      • Agree Agree x 2
    2. Cornedo

      Joined:
      Aug 23, 2013
      Messages:
      84
      They are off.
       
    3. EtherEel

      Joined:
      Feb 15, 2015
      Messages:
      158
      Hmmm.....

      I'm currently making a ship that has a significant amount of radial symmetry. The YZ plane is working, but the XZ plane is skewed. The problem just started so I can't help but think the update is involved.... I can, of course, not use the XZ helper, but I thought yall should be aware in case the issue is from your end.

      ~EE


      WHOOPS !!! -----> Sorry, Totally my mistake.... Disregard above statement. :oops:
       
      #83 EtherEel, Mar 3, 2015
      Last edited: Mar 3, 2015
    4. Spartan-089

      Joined:
      Jan 20, 2015
      Messages:
      39
      Is anything not a Capital/titan a "newb" ship to you? I think this a step in the right direction. Honestly I feel the game is incredibly boring in terms of actual pvp combat considering you need nothing short of titans to stand any type of chance.
       
      • Agree Agree x 2
    5. Spartan-228

      Joined:
      Feb 10, 2014
      Messages:
      317
      Well I don't know about the titans you use, but a lot of titans my friends and I have tested are rather squishy. A lot of titans out there are deigned for looks not combat. So wile they will defeat small ships, dedicated combat ships of half the size will rip them apart.
      However we have just lost one of the weapons that made it possible to build small ships capable of taking titans out.
       
      #85 Spartan-228, Mar 3, 2015
      Last edited: Mar 3, 2015
    6. Lancake

      Lancake Head of Testing

      Joined:
      Aug 20, 2013
      Messages:
      794
      I agree with the first part but I'm slightly confused about that last part. Capping the penetration effect on an effect does not really influence small ships versus big ones. The double shield cap is probably the thing you are thinking about?

      With the stronger armor different effects and stronger shields, you are a little bit forced to put more weapon blocks on your ships. By doubling the shield capacity we merely moved the ratios of systems/weapons on ships.

      In theory you can remove 50% of your shields now, and replace them with more valuable stuff (thicker armor, more defensive systems, more weapons). Your HP will be the same as before, but your ship will have a lot more bang than the old equivalent and probably more durability after your own shield breaks. Doing this will also force others to make that change.
       
    7. Mered4

      Mered4 Space Triangle Builder

      Joined:
      Jan 12, 2014
      Messages:
      662
      Just a reminder to everyone:
      the ion defensive effect is more efficient block for block than having shield caps.
       
      • Informative Informative x 1
    8. Jananton

      Joined:
      Jul 12, 2014
      Messages:
      511
      Oh boy, I couldn't believe the FPS counter when I did a fresh install of this update and ran it. A whopping 512 frames on an old system that was high end four years ago, sweet. ;)
      Thanks guys, keep up the good work.

      Greets,

      Jan
       
    9. kiddan

      kiddan Cobalt-Blooded Bullet Mirror

      Joined:
      May 12, 2014
      Messages:
      1,131
      You stole all of my words here, so instead of posting it again (xP): Ditto!
       
    10. Visitor

      Joined:
      Jun 7, 2013
      Messages:
      403
      Optimizations is some of the most important work for the project of such scale. I hope that, while it already was a lot of work, constant improvements in this area will keep on going, ideally so despite new features, players will be able to keep on playing the game without the need to improve hardware to maintain the performance.

      Thank you for your hard work. While I look forward to new features, it's the bugfixes and performance improvements that are vital also to me, as my oldish computer already stuttered badly when it came to earlier versions, especially when I was approaching bigger stellar bodies.
       
    11. Invadr

      Joined:
      Mar 25, 2014
      Messages:
      59

      I have exact same problem. Viewing anything at more than say 20-40 meters results in a very diminished visual. Beyond 50 meters it's solid black. I have always played with shadows off, this has been introduced in the last patch. All ships and stations are just silhouettes against the star field. Most of the lighting effects are invisible until you are less that 20 meters from it. And I'm running the system pretty lean in the graphics dept with default textures...
       
      • Agree Agree x 1
    12. EtherEel

      Joined:
      Feb 15, 2015
      Messages:
      158
      I'm still puzzled by the fact that the Damage-Pulse weapon exists at all. I only ever hear of it used as an adjunct to the other, more effective primary weapon -- which essentially renders the Pulse a mis-labeled "effect."

      ☼☼ ——> I am tremendously pleased that defense has been improved. Cannot adequately state just how pleased I am about that. √

      One last thought, concerning the GUI (despite the recent improvements.): Why are there only 10 slots? I would suggest reducing the size of the box of those slots to about 2/3's their current size, and doubling or trebling their number. And also being able to Label the draggable items from the Weapons Panel for better organization/keeping track. (Okay, 2 last thoughts...) I'll stop there for now.

      Cheers
      ~EE
       
    13. Lecic

      Lecic Convicted Lancake Abuser

      Joined:
      Apr 14, 2013
      Messages:
      5,101
      It's not a very useful weapon, and it never was. It does have rare situational uses, but it is not a main battle weapon. You need to build "melee ships" to use the things.

      Because there's only 10 number hotkets. 10 is plenty, especially with multislots, anyway.
       
    14. EtherEel

      Joined:
      Feb 15, 2015
      Messages:
      158
      Not to be argumentative, but there can be more than 10 Hot-Keyable hotbar slots. "-" and "=" could be used as well as Shift+, Ctrl+, and Alt+ (bringing the possible number to at least 48). Plenty of popular games out there that do this already. Not that I want that many....
      And I guess I have yet to get comfy with the "multi-slot" mechanic. What can I say? I'm a noob! Sue me!
       
    15. Lecic

      Lecic Convicted Lancake Abuser

      Joined:
      Apr 14, 2013
      Messages:
      5,101
      Multislots are a real space saver once you get the hang of them. You can turn 10 slots into up to 50 slots. I'd really recommend trying to learn to use them!

      NOOOOOOB
       
    16. EtherEel

      Joined:
      Feb 15, 2015
      Messages:
      158
      Defanatlee a MAJER NOOB -- no doubting that ! Rofl :confused:

      My ships are awful purdy tho !!
       
      • Funny Funny x 1
    17. Superjudge

      Joined:
      Aug 10, 2013
      Messages:
      40
      I just attempted this and it did not work. All ice crystal blocks were still spawned in damaged. Kinda a pain in the ass to even have to give myself 3 million blocks only to not have this process work. Is there any chance we get a fix on this? Maybe an admin command to repair all blocks on the ship? Something?

      EDIT: I have even tried reloading an earlier version of the game, saving from that version and admin spawning the ship in the current version and still no luck.
       
      #97 Superjudge, Mar 7, 2015
      Last edited: Mar 7, 2015
    18. max stripe

      Joined:
      Nov 27, 2013
      Messages:
      673
      make a NEW BP of the damaged ship then rebuy it.
       
    19. BlisAx

      Joined:
      Feb 17, 2014
      Messages:
      60
      I absolutely love this update. I know i'm a little late but I didn't really take advantage of the optimizations until now. I reset my universe and decided I would set planet size mean to 750m I get 60 fps on the surface of such a planet and about 25 in orbit! Im so happy because now planets feel like planets! I'm also using a business class laptop so before this update a 500m planet would yield about 35fps on the surface.
       
    Loading...