1. We've removed some functionality from SMD in preparation for a migration to new forum software. We expect to make the move before the end of August.

    Fixing Starmade's Continued Play Value.

    Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Azereiah, Oct 15, 2017.

    1. Batavium

      Joined:
      Jan 28, 2015
      Messages:
      494
      A few of these things you can yourself. The default StarMade experience is very rough. But most server admins still insist on running the game as is. Without making any change to the default config. "most are clueless how to change stuff" Schine also has also been very sloppy in dealing with this.

      First and foremost change the default stations in the game. Just delete the existing ones from their Trading Guild, Pirate en Derelict folder. Then you can literally download every single station here on StarMadeDock and throw them in those folders. Start a new map and now all those stations are scattered across the universe. Now that is a map worth exploring. Beware this only works when you create a new map. It is not possible to change the stations on an existing map.

      Change the default Pirates in the game. Make sure the blueprints default to enemy use is turned off in the server.cfg. Than add your own or ships from StarMadeDock. People add them here to be admired and used. What better reward then having your ship used on a server! Beware do not use ships with Heatseekers as they target everything. Try to use ships with little or no turrets. This limits debree and cuts entity count. Shot off pirate turrets can also cause endless waves of Pirates to spawn.

      Set your spawn sector to be protected and peaceful. Protected means you can not damage players or ships. Peace means Pirates can not spawn in that sector. They can however fly into it! So make a bubble of sectors at least 3 by 3 by 3 with spawn at the center.

      Change the default blocks players start with. Power reactors are always sold out at shops. Give new players 1000 of them when they start. Also add dockers, build blocks and factories to the default lay out. Do not add more credits you do not want them to empty the shop when they start. There inventory should have everything to build a basic miner and means to dock that miner on a basic station for when they log off.

      Set planets to be as small as possible. The problems with planets come from there gravity that pulls ships strait through the planet plates. The rotation of the planet sector causes constant calculations of the stuff in the sector and is a big burden on both the server CPU and client CPU.

      For fleets turn on in the server.cfg that fleets can only be formed with factioned ships! Do not allow players to add unfactioned ships to fleets!

      Turn off the NPC. They are seriously broken en hog server resource. If the Traders NPC is given the start system 0 0 0 then expect your server to die just from the fleets they send to each player that logs on.

      By default spawn starts out with an advanced shop. This also adds some advanced shops through out the standard pilon shops on the map. Advanced shops have rails to dock to. Anything docked to an advanced shop is invulnerable. That is great for players that like to hide. But it can create problems at spawn by people who claim all the dockers for themselves and add tons of crap to the shop. So when you start a new map. Add factioned caps to those four rails at spawn. Then use an entity command to set those four caps as the Trading Guild faction 1. That way your spawn stays clean without the need to remove all advanced shops from the map.

      Besides this a more advanced option would be to add a wrapper for bounties and banks. Look in the mod section on this forum.


      Do not run a StarMade Server with no change to the default config!!!!!

      Single player and servers are the same thing so spice up your single player experience in the same way.
       
      • Useful Useful x 2
      • Agree Agree x 1
    2. Panpiper

      Joined:
      Jan 1, 2015
      Messages:
      922
      Hey Batavium

      The 'configuration' section on Community Content is empty. Might you be willing to make those config changes yourself and upload the file to community content? I ask not for myself as I have no intent to run a server, but I am well aware of the trepidation that others might feel 'hacking' game files when they know that they don't know what they are doing.
       
      • Agree Agree x 2
      • Like Like x 1
    3. Asvarduil

      Asvarduil Builder of Very Small Ships

      Joined:
      Apr 17, 2015
      Messages:
      272
      I'd like to second this. I'm having difficulties working on my mod project, because I'm having to experiment and see if I can figure out certain configuration switches. For instance, in Gameconfig.xml, I understand that there's a configuration option to set a mass limit on ships and stations built into the game. The default configurations don't show this, though, and I can't find any references to this mythical configuration property.

      In my MicroMade mod, I'm actually writing a modding config guide for myself as I go along, but the documentation on general configuration is just not there.
       
      • Agree Agree x 1
    4. Azereiah

      Azereiah Way gayer than originally thought.

      Joined:
      Jun 29, 2013
      Messages:
      1,928
      Adding a large variety of stations and NPCs doesn't improve exploration much, if at all, considering that there's zero point to exploring and NPC ships all act almost exactly the same regardless of equipment and art style.

      And we need some pretty extreme of wrappers to actually make the game enjoyable for long periods of time. Far, far more is needed than simple things like 'banks' and such. Your suggestions do nothing except for address some minor balance issues and come nowhere near addressing the problems with the core game itself.
       
      • Agree Agree x 1
    5. Batavium

      Joined:
      Jan 28, 2015
      Messages:
      494
      I did not even notice we had such a section.

      The tricky thing is everything effects everything else. So i could upload various files with changed settings. But say i swap out a pirate then i would also have to add a link to download that pirate etc etc.

      If you can download a config then you can edit these files. People should just toy with them a bit. With StarMade installed in another folder so it will not mess up your current game.

      Most of these settings should just be added to StarMades default config. So that the settings are safe when you download the game.

      server.cfg

      PROTECT_STARTING_SECTOR = true //Protects the starting sector
      CONCURRENT_SIMULATION = 128 //How many simulation groups may be in the universe simultaniously (performance)
      SIMULATION_SPAWN_DELAY = 840 //How much seconds between simulation spawn ticks
      DEFAULT_BLUEPRINT_ENEMY_USE = false //Default option for blueprints not in catalog yet
      SECTOR_AUTOSAVE_SEC = 900 //Time interval in secs the server will autosave (-1 for never)
      PLANET_SIZE_MEAN = 50.0 //Planet size mean (normal gaussian distribution) (min 50)
      PLANET_SIZE_DEVIATION = 0.0 //Planet size standard deviation. Note: normal gaussian distribution graph scaled horizontally by 1/3 (min 0)
      MISSILE_DEFENSE_FRIENDLY_FIRE = false //can shoot down own or missiles from own faction
      SHOP_USE_STATIC_SELL_BUY_PRICES = true //shop buy and sell price change depending on stock (shop prices will always stay the same if true)
      ONLY_ALLOW_FACTION_SHIPS_ADDED_TO_FLEET = true //only allows faction ships to be added to fleet
      NPC_FACTION_SPAWN_LIMIT = 0 //Maximum npc factions per galaxy (-1 for unlimited (will still be around 2-10))

      To change the default stations on the map look in your blueprints-stations folder located in your StarMade folder. You can also add to the existing ones. Deleting the ones the game comes with is not mandatory. It will only work if you do this before starting a new map. Existing maps can not have there stations changed!

      To change the default player inventory and change the sun damage or add a build limit to your server. Look in the GameConfig.xml file in your StarMade folder.

      How to add your own Pirates

      How Pirates behave

      --- Updated post (merge), Oct 19, 2017, Original Post Date: Oct 19, 2017 ---
      It works as is listed in the Gameconfig.xml it is in the bottom part of the file. If you make something greater then the set limit then it will not work. You can enter it even spawn it but it will refuse to work. The server will tell you that you need to scale it down to bring it back to life.

      To edit .XML files you can download the free NotePad + + editor from here.
       
      #25 Batavium, Oct 19, 2017
      Last edited: Oct 19, 2017
      • Agree Agree x 1
      • Useful Useful x 1
    6. Asvarduil

      Asvarduil Builder of Very Small Ships

      Joined:
      Apr 17, 2015
      Messages:
      272
      First - Notepad++ is awesome, and good on you for linking it!

      Second - I'm aware that configurations are spread out over various files, so it's possible there's more than one GameConfig.xml to contend with. This is the default GameConfig.xml that I was looking at. It's usually stored in the StarMade directory, along with server.cfg. Is that the right place to look, or is there another GameConfig.xml file secreted elsewhere that has what I need?
       
    7. Dr. Whammy

      Dr. Whammy Executive Constructologist of the United Star Axis

      Joined:
      Jul 22, 2014
      Messages:
      1,524
      While NPC ships are dumb, you can make some ridiculously engaging station environments that do in fact, make exploration worth while. Something as simple as putting a factioned city on a planet with public hotels, factories and hospitals was enough to divert a LOT of player traffic to my base on several servers. Imagine an even wider variety of environments than that; scattered across the map in just the right amounts.

      Right now, Stock stations are at most, a docking bay and some corridors, while planets are just hunks of rock with a small possibility of spawning a very plain and basic looking city or pyramid. No matter how plain or detailed they are, if they have no fun or interactive features, they're going to be mined, salvaged, destroyed or ignored.


      Not quite. What he's offering is a set of base requirements for the creation of a server that doesn't kill itself with all the bugs inherent to the vanilla config.

      I understand that we need more content but no amount of content, scripts, admins or wrappers will fix your game if your config is all jacked up.
       
      • Like Like x 1
      • Agree Agree x 1
    8. Edymnion

      Edymnion Carebear Extraordinaire!

      Joined:
      Mar 18, 2015
      Messages:
      2,706
      Yeah, I would always put public medical stations, factories, refineries, docks, etc on my stations. They wouldn't be as good as my faction ones, but I would keep an entire suite of things for newbies to use until they could make their own stations so that no one would have to get near a planet.

      I think the game could get a LOT of use out of NPC stations that offered public facilities so that players weren't forced into making mud huts on laggy ass planets.
       
      • Like Like x 1
    9. Batavium

      Joined:
      Jan 28, 2015
      Messages:
      494
      The correct GameConfig.xml file is located in the root StarMade folder. Your server.cfg and settings.cfg are also located there.

      Then there is the data\config folder. Here you find a lot of .xml files. Including GameConfigDefault.xml that is just a backup copy with the default settings you do not need to edit this file it clearly says so at the top of the file.

      blockBehaviorConfig.xml

      Is for changing how systems work. Again each option is clearly labeled.

      Blockconfig.xml

      Is for changing the properties of every block in the game.

      customBlockBehaviorConfigTemplate.xml

      Is for changes to weapons. The file is an example. To use it make a copy and rename it to customBlockBehaviorConfig.xml

      FactionConfig.xml

      Is for changes to various faction bonus. Use this file to make mining in enemy owned territory more profitable then mining in your own claimed space! Now that is a reason to wage war!

      mainConfig.xml

      You want astronauts with spider legs or heads? Then look at this file.

      physics.userdatatypes.xml

      No idea what this does. :-p

      revertBehaviorConfig.xml

      Looks like this file is for backward settings to comply with previous versions. I could be wrong though please explain if someone knows.

      Under data\config\customConfigTemplate you find the BlockConfigImportTemplate.xml file. Rename to BlockConfigImport.xml to add your own custom blocks to the game.

      In the data\config\defaultSettings folder you find another copy of the server.cfg, settings.cfg and keyboard.cfg. Do not edit these! They are just a backup for if you need the default config.
       
      • Like Like x 2
      • Informative Informative x 1
      • Friendly Friendly x 1
      • Useful Useful x 1
    10. Asvarduil

      Asvarduil Builder of Very Small Ships

      Joined:
      Apr 17, 2015
      Messages:
      272
      You've just made me a very happy nerd.

      Edit - The data/configs file had the switches I was looking for, and a lot of other information that's just not present in the higher-level configurations. Anyone who wants to mod their client should look in /data/configs for stuff they're not sure how to do first, probably.
       
      #30 Asvarduil, Oct 19, 2017
      Last edited: Oct 20, 2017
      • Like Like x 2
      • Friendly Friendly x 1
    11. jorgekorke

      Joined:
      Sep 6, 2013
      Messages:
      642
      I would come back in no time if the Fleets' feature were improved, especially regarding the mining commands. This would reduce a lot the boring and tedious full days of grinding in order to be relevant in multiplayer. I don't understand why this hasn't been done yet.

      Fleet combat improvements would be nice too. Sure, there are workarounds to avoid the ships acting retarded but it's mostly a massive pain in the ass, more so when you are working with multiple smaller ships...
       
      • Agree Agree x 3
      • Like Like x 1
    12. Asvarduil

      Asvarduil Builder of Very Small Ships

      Joined:
      Apr 17, 2015
      Messages:
      272
      So, Batavium I've been toying with some of these configurations, and I've noticed some...oddities. First things first, what I've been doing.

      For my MicroMade mod (see link in signature), I have two primary factions at the moment - the Coalition of Systems, and the Valron Empire. I was able to edit the customNPCFactions/npcSpawnConfig.xml file to create the two factions.

      npcSpawnConfig.xml
      Code:
      <NPCConfig>
          <Version>0<!--autocreated--></Version>
          <Config>
              <Faction>
                  <RandomSpawn>false</RandomSpawn>
                  <FixedSpawnSystem>-5,2,3</FixedSpawnSystem>
                  <Name>Coalition of Systems</Name>
                  <Description>
                  Drawing strength from many worlds, the Coalition are explorers and scientists.  Their technology is powerful, and are amenable to diplomacy.
                  </Description>
                  <PossiblePresets>Coalition</PossiblePresets>
                  <InitialGrowth>6</InitialGrowth>
              </Faction>
              <Faction>
                  <RandomSpawn>false</RandomSpawn>
                  <FixedSpawnSystem>5,-1,-4</FixedSpawnSystem>
                  <Name>Valron Empire</Name>
                  <Description>
                  The proud warriors of the Valron Empire believe in might.  The Valron respect fighters, and accord a victorious warrior with praise.
                  </Description>
                  <PossiblePresets>Valron</PossiblePresets>
                  <InitialGrowth>6</InitialGrowth>
              </Faction>
          </Config>
      </NPCConfig>
      One thing I've noticed, though, is that I can't get any ships or stations I've created for these factions to actually appear in-game.

      I've tried placing files in blueprints, blueprints-stations, as well as within a 'Valron' and 'Coalition' folder in the customNPCConfig folder, but for some reason, every time I generate a universe, I get the 'Temporary Home Base' and default (large) ships generating for each faction.

      For some reason, my custom blueprints just aren't taking. What gives?
       
    13. Batavium

      Joined:
      Jan 28, 2015
      Messages:
      494
      This quote of mine:
      Is about the default stations of the game. So the Trading Guild, Pirates and Derelict stations. To change them all you need to do is swap Blueprints and start a new map.

      To spawn new NPC factions on a map you need to edit a few files first.

      You already did the first part which is to edit the npcSpawnConfig.xml file. In this file you list/name all the NPC factions that need to be used on the map.

      However the NPC factions all behave different and you need to explain this in a file before StarMade understands how to use them.

      The file is called npcConfig.xml and must be located in each NPC Faction folder. It is a big file with a ton of options. Lucky for you most have an explanation behind them.

      As an example look in yourstarmadefolder\data\npcFactions\Outcasts\npcConfig.xml

      Copy the file to your new NPC faction folder and edit everything to suit them. Making sure you name everything correctly.

      I hope this helps you. Feel free to ask further.
       
      • Like Like x 1
      • Useful Useful x 1
    14. Asvarduil

      Asvarduil Builder of Very Small Ships

      Joined:
      Apr 17, 2015
      Messages:
      272
      So, I have good news and awkward news.

      The good news is that with minimal changes, I was able to get custom ships to spawn in. The awkward news, is that in order to know where to put them, you have to read.

      The specific place you have to put them is the yourstarmadefolder\data\npcFactions. You cannot put them anywhere else and expect them to spawn into your game - the yourstarmadefolder\customNPCFactions is a red herring. I've already taken the steps of deleting the folder in my mod's setup (I was sure to copy the original setup so that I have something clean to revert to.) And, yes, you have to not only have npcSpawnConfig setup, but also each faction folder needs to have a npcConfig at the top level.

      I'll be updating my mod guide by the end of the night.
       
      • Agree Agree x 1
    15. Batavium

      Joined:
      Jan 28, 2015
      Messages:
      494
      Nothing is ever simple in StarMade. There is some logic behind the five custom folders but as a solution it is not very elegant.

      The custom folders only contain an extremely short basic how to on how to get stuff done. The folders are there to provide a way to add new features and config settings to StarMade without overwriting any user changed config files.

      Example you download a new version of StarMade and you added your own edited version of customBlockBehaviorConfig.xml to the game. The new version then overwrites customBlockBehaviorConfigTemplate.xml and not your edited customBlockBehaviorConfig.xml. To add any new config rules you then have to manually add them to your own created customBlockBehaviorConfig.xml. And the location of that file in order to get it to work is different "\data\config\" from the \customBlockBehaviorConfig\ folder. It also does not help that those same files have another duplicate there to.

      The problem is in the naming of these folders customBlockBehaviorConfig etc since you expect that you need to place your own edited config files here. That would be the logical assumption! But that is not the case.
       
      • Agree Agree x 1
    16. Magrim

      Joined:
      Jul 12, 2013
      Messages:
      295
      I believe someone has mentioned this a while back but, giving players the tools to create their own missions and upload them to the dock for others to dl would be fun.

      Allow unique ships, stations, npcs, planets to be included in the mission file by the creator specifically for the the mission. Meaning, the entities don't get added to the catalog and are only there for the mission.

      There's no doubt, a lot of creativity is floating around out there and I don't think it would be a bad idea for schine to subsidize mission creation.
       
      • Agree Agree x 1
    17. JinM

      Joined:
      Jun 11, 2016
      Messages:
      1,129
      Here is my suggestion: ( I didn't read through the thread so it might have been said allready)

      Make a Starmade configuration like the "Lazy newb pack" for Dwarf Fortress. There better settings and all the good stations and ships get thrown into a ready to paste into SM-folder archive.

      Maybe this could also be one day a "scenario" setting that Schema could code into the game. But for now the pastable SM-folder thing would be enough.
       
      • Like Like x 1
    18. Asvarduil

      Asvarduil Builder of Very Small Ships

      Joined:
      Apr 17, 2015
      Messages:
      272
    19. Asvarduil

      Asvarduil Builder of Very Small Ships

      Joined:
      Apr 17, 2015
      Messages:
      272
      So, new week, new configuration/modding question.

      As you can see in this file, I'm trying to mod specific blocks. For some reason, however, my modded recipes aren't taking, regardless of if I load up an existing universe, or spin off a new one.

      Right now, the BlockConfigImport.xml file I listed there I have in my yourstarmadefolder/data/config directory. Is that the right place?
       
    20. Valck

      Joined:
      Jun 27, 2013
      Messages:
      892
      Try putting it in yourstarmadefolder/customBlockConfig/, as is (tried to be) explained in BlockConfigImportHowto.txt
       
      • Like Like x 1
    Loading...