DIAGNOSTIC TOOL -- Starmade System Checker

    AndyP

    Customer Experience Manager
    Joined
    Aug 15, 2013
    Messages
    1,191
    Reaction score
    259
    • Schine
    • Wired for Logic
    Code:
    RESULTS:
    Windows version: Windows 8.1 64-bit ....PASS
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4710HQ CPU @ 2.50GHz (8 CPUs), ~2.5GHz
    Memory: 8192MB RAM
    Graphics Card name: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M  ....UNKNOWN
    Java version: 64-bit Java 8 ....PASS
    GTX860M is working with Win8.1

    However:
    Need to add it to Nvidia control center to execute starmade with GPU and also update drivers before it works.

    - Andy
    (just to have a reference to add to "known" video cards)
     

    fire219

    1200° Plasma
    Joined
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages
    443
    Reaction score
    117
    • Legacy Citizen 4
    Code:
    RESULTS:
    Windows version: Windows 8.1 64-bit ....PASS
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4710HQ CPU @ 2.50GHz (8 CPUs), ~2.5GHz
    Memory: 8192MB RAM
    Graphics Card name: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M  ....UNKNOWN
    Java version: 64-bit Java 8 ....PASS
    GTX860M is working with Win8.1

    However:
    Need to add it to Nvidia control center to execute starmade with GPU and also update drivers before it works.

    - Andy
    (just to have a reference to add to "known" video cards)
    Despite what I said a couple months ago, it should detect 8xx series GPUs no problem. I think I may know what the problem is, though... Mind opening DXDiag and telling me what the Manufacturer string is for the GPU?
     

    therimmer96

    The Cake Network Staff Senior button unpusher
    Joined
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages
    3,602
    Reaction score
    1,048
    Code:
    RESULTS: 
    Windows version: Windows  ....UNKNOWN 
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4790K CPU @ 4.00GHz (8 CPUs), ~4.0GHz 
    Memory: 8192MB RAM 
    Graphics Card name: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 550 Ti ....UNKNOWN 
    Java version: 64-bit Java 8 ....PASS
    Just so you know, with Windows 10. I know its preview 'n' all, but cant hurt knowing :P
     

    AndyP

    Customer Experience Manager
    Joined
    Aug 15, 2013
    Messages
    1,191
    Reaction score
    259
    • Schine
    • Wired for Logic
    Sure, sending PM. =)

    - Andy
     
    G

    GDPR 302420

    Guest
    Hey just out of curiosity do we have Windows 10 OS Detection yet???
     

    therimmer96

    The Cake Network Staff Senior button unpusher
    Joined
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages
    3,602
    Reaction score
    1,048
    Why is it beeping so f*cking loud. Some warning would be nice :D
     

    therimmer96

    The Cake Network Staff Senior button unpusher
    Joined
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages
    3,602
    Reaction score
    1,048
    What do I change to make ti go away? trying to make it starlaunch ready again ^_^
     
    Joined
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages
    2
    Reaction score
    0
    Here's a no-beep version of v1.7.

    1.8 will be around as soon as I have the patience to work through a few issues with it.
    JUst to mention again, which I'm sure you know, Windows 10 detection fails. I decided to try your tool for s--ts & grins.

    It detects everything else fine. While I haven't looked at the source, perhaps doing a little less 'work' detecting the OS might work better, i.e. just query windows own api strings as I'm guessing that right now that you're trying to be tricky.

    Really, I just came by since the latest 361.75 nvidia driver barfed on opengl after playing a while but their drivers have been pretty crap IME under windows 10, e.g. they also eventually barf on every single Unity Engine game... but the opengl is a new one for me w/361.75(780 Ti)
     

    fire219

    1200° Plasma
    Joined
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages
    443
    Reaction score
    117
    • Legacy Citizen 4
    This tool still work?
    It mostly works. In the large amount of time since I last updated it, new generations of computer hardware (and Windows 10) have come out. I've just been too lazy and/or forgetful to update it. Going to try again now.
     

    fire219

    1200° Plasma
    Joined
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages
    443
    Reaction score
    117
    • Legacy Citizen 4
    Sound the trumpets!

    At last, SMC has been updated to version 1.8!

    Changelog:

    • Windows 10 detection added
    • Video card detection improved and more reliable (hopefully!)
    • Geforce GTX 8 and 9 series cards detected properly
    • Minor changes to Java detection routine
     
    • Like
    Reactions: therimmer96

    calani

    Dreaming of Sushi ~
    Joined
    Dec 17, 2015
    Messages
    47
    Reaction score
    108
    • Purchased!
    Minor critiques:
    • You should clear all vars before exiting to avoid environment pollution.
    • There's a fair bit of repeated code in this; you could shorten it pretty easily!
    • I also noticed some tabs mixed in with spaces. (ex: line 244)
    • Also, and it's an edge-case, but it's possible for users to specify custom names for the two Program Files directories -- detecting them via their environment vars instead should catch these. (though likely users that did this wouldn't need a tool ~)
    Other than that: Woo! useful :)
     

    fire219

    1200° Plasma
    Joined
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages
    443
    Reaction score
    117
    • Legacy Citizen 4
    Minor critiques:
    • You should clear all vars before exiting to avoid environment pollution.
    • There's a fair bit of repeated code in this; you could shorten it pretty easily!
    • I also noticed some tabs mixed in with spaces. (ex: line 244)
    • Also, and it's an edge-case, but it's possible for users to specify custom names for the two Program Files directories -- detecting them via their environment vars instead should catch these. (though likely users that did this wouldn't need a tool ~)
    Other than that: Woo! useful :)
    1: Yea, probably a good idea...
    2: Definitely. However, the code is already a bit hard to read and intricate, so I really don't want to mess with it too much.
    3: I have a bad habit of doing that. Luckily batch doesn't care, unlike Python...
    4: I believe at some point it did use the environment vars for that, but I had to change it to fix yet another edge case.

    Thanks for the constructive criticism and compliment. :)
     
    • Like
    Reactions: calani
    Joined
    Aug 26, 2016
    Messages
    11
    Reaction score
    0
    It doesn't seem to like nvidia optimus on my laptop...
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 740M is unknown, and it detects GPU manufacturer as Intel (but in the final report the name is correct).
     
    Joined
    Dec 13, 2017
    Messages
    1
    Reaction score
    0
    Looks like this thread is a bit old, but I ran the program and it said to let you know about my graphics card :P

    I have NVIDIA Quadro K1100M.