[SOLVED]Launcher won't open

Reaction score
    So, today my launcher stopped working.
    As I double click the StarMade-starter.exe, javaw.exe pops up in task manager for a few seconds, only to disappear.
    Nothing else happens.
    Same thing with minecraft, tried numerous of their fixes, no help.

I uninstalled the game, only to find I cannot re-install without the launcher. :oops:
    I re-installed java 64- and 32-bit
    Installed JDK - (what ever that is, suggested somewhere.)
    Restarted several times. (After new installations)

It seems to be very java related, but I am a noob that needs help!

Specs:
    AMD Athlon II P360 Dual-Core 2.30GHz
    4 GB RAM
    AMD Radeon HD 6470M
    Windows 7 64-bit

Thank you for your time.

Reaction score
    • Tester
    That does sound like a broken Java install to me.
    The launcher itself is not in any protected folder ? (desktop,programmfiles or something like that?)

uninstall all Java versions through the windows progrmas console (sorry do not know how that is named in english)
    then get the 64 bit java 8 version from http://java.com/en/download/manual.jsp (if english is wrong, language selection is on the bottom of the page)
    JDK is the Java Development Kit afaik. That solves problems with non standard intel and HP PC solutions ... when i have read that right.

Reactions: Krutzelpuntz
    Reaction score
    The launcher itself is not in any protected folder?

uninstall all Java versions through the windows progrmas console (sorry do not know how that is named in english)
    I have tried various folders for the launcher, and unfortunately, it make no difference.

Tried to re-install java yesterday (and again today, just to be sure), without luck.
    Thank you for the suggestions though :)

I think I was changing the settings of the game prior to the error, as of this post, though I also think I had the game running afterwards.