Overhaul of Ship-Core

Reaction score
    TLDR AT BOTTOM

I have a suggestion that I think many of you would agree with. But let me first say that I love this game, I'm new to it but I've learned a lot this week and I'm fascinated by all the innovation here.

So, I only have one main gripe with this game, and that's the Ship Core.

I think it's silly that if you lose your ship core, your ship is done and you've lost the fight. It encourages some wonky setups when you build your own ship in mind of defending your core, and kind of detracts from the combat.

Now, I have something different in mind for how the ship core functions when destroyed, but I'll get to that later.

I think it's really freaking cool that if you lose your weapons computer, your weapons can no longer fire. This is awesome! I think that if your engines start taking damage, it's pretty neat that you start losing thrust. I think when you start losing power generators, you suffer the super baller consequences of less power regeneration.

All that said, I think the ship-core should have a crippling effect but not be the end-all be-all thing to aim for as an attacker.

So, this will be a group effort to suggest different and less punishing mechanics for how the ship reacts to having the ship core overheat.