Local play stuck at "Initializing universe... Server initialized"

    Joined
    May 24, 2015
    Messages
    3
    Reaction score
    0
    Hi, I've just downloaded the game after a lot of time without playing it and I'm facing a problem when starting a local play new game. When I click "start", I get stuck at the "Initializing universe... Server initialized" message, and nothing happens. I tried playing with Windows Firewall off, but got the same problem. Any suggestions?

    System Specs:
    Windows 10 pro (64 bits)
    8gb RAM
    ZOTAC GTX 660 2gb

    I'm also running the game from steam, if that makes any difference.
     
    Last edited:
    Joined
    Jul 17, 2013
    Messages
    1,438
    Reaction score
    208
    • Tester
    are you able to connect to a multiplayer server ?

    and please search for the logs folder inside your starmade install
    there should be a file named "logstarmade.0.log" in there after one of those events happening (end the game then)

    drag and drop that file into an answer here (you might have to zip it first)
     
    Joined
    Jul 17, 2013
    Messages
    1,438
    Reaction score
    208
    • Tester
    Weird stuff going on ... is there any special input device plugged in ?
    remove everthing from your pc except mouse and keyboard .. then start the PC again please and try once more.
    for multiplayer you have also to reuplink your account from the Multilayer connection page

    Screenshot_2.jpg
     
    Joined
    May 24, 2015
    Messages
    3
    Reaction score
    0
    Yeah, I had a T Flight Hotas X connected and a software running which emulated another input device, and disconnecting the HOTAS and rebooting (and also closing the software, don't know if it influences) fixed the problem! Thank you very much for the quick response. :)
     

    AndyP

    Customer Experience Manager
    Joined
    Aug 15, 2013
    Messages
    1,199
    Reaction score
    263
    • Schine
    • Wired for Logic
    I'm having a similar problem if anyone would possibly be able to help.
    6 year old thread,
    unrelated problem.

    It looks like an issue with a mod being loaded - there are default factions and ships being copied over that I do not recognize.
    I assume you have an outdated or broken mod installed.

    - Andy
     

    DrTarDIS

    Eldrich Timelord
    Joined
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages
    1,104
    Reaction score
    309
    Weird that andy thinks you're loading mod, and the log shows
    Code:
    [2022-06-28 19:27:59] [DebugFile] [StarLoader]28-06-2022 at 19:27:59 PDT  ===== Clearing server mods =====
    [2022-06-28 19:27:59] [DebugFile] [StarLoader]28-06-2022 at 19:27:59 PDT  ===== Listing enabled mods =====
    [2022-06-28 19:27:59] [DebugFile] [StarLoader]28-06-2022 at 19:27:59 PDT  StarLoader (0.5.100) [-1]
    [2022-06-28 19:27:59] [DebugFile] [StarLoader]28-06-2022 at 19:27:59 PDT  ==========================================
    [2022-06-28 19:27:59] [Starloader] Start client thread
    [2022-06-28 19:27:59] [CLIENT] initializing 0.203.115 (20220429_060819)
    Try connecting to any multiplayer server (you probably have to login to the registry even if it says you don't, for silly reasons) if that works then...

    Try running 2 instances of strmde and force them to run on different cores if you can.

    -1st instance as a server

    -2nd instance as a regular client and try to connect to local:4242

    This will let you see if the issue is with the local:4242 call in windows (win 8.1 according to the log?) not liking the way java's making the call.
     

    AndyP

    Customer Experience Manager
    Joined
    Aug 15, 2013
    Messages
    1,199
    Reaction score
    263
    • Schine
    • Wired for Logic
    Weird that andy thinks you're loading mod, and the log shows
    Code:
    [2022-06-28 19:27:59] [DebugFile] [StarLoader]28-06-2022 at 19:27:59 PDT  ===== Clearing server mods =====
    [2022-06-28 19:27:59] [DebugFile] [StarLoader]28-06-2022 at 19:27:59 PDT  ===== Listing enabled mods =====
    [2022-06-28 19:27:59] [DebugFile] [StarLoader]28-06-2022 at 19:27:59 PDT  StarLoader (0.5.100) [-1]
    [2022-06-28 19:27:59] [DebugFile] [StarLoader]28-06-2022 at 19:27:59 PDT  ==========================================
    [2022-06-28 19:27:59] [Starloader] Start client thread
    [2022-06-28 19:27:59] [CLIENT] initializing 0.203.115 (20220429_060819)
    Try connecting to any multiplayer server (you probably have to login to the registry even if it says you don't, for silly reasons) if that works then...

    Try running 2 instances of strmde and force them to run on different cores if you can.

    -1st instance as a server

    -2nd instance as a regular client and try to connect to local:4242

    This will let you see if the issue is with the local:4242 call in windows (win 8.1 according to the log?) not liking the way java's making the call.
    The log has nothing, showing an error that could get stuck initialising the universe.
    It is also never a good idea to run two instances of starmade from the same directory.
    Always use separate directories, or else you run into issues sooner than later.

    So I assume there is a modified or broken installation causing it.
    In that case, it is a completely different issue causing the problem.

    - Andy
     

    DrTarDIS

    Eldrich Timelord
    Joined
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages
    1,104
    Reaction score
    309
    Ahh, good point Andy! Yeah, I should have been more clear: "two different installations running two different instances" would have been a way better way of saying what I was getting at.