Is precise angle control possible?

Reaction score
    I am new noob here, so bare with me posting into GD instead of "Logic" subforum, as well as this question may been asked already.

I've been thinking if there is a way to make an angle less than 45 degrees?
    Why: I want to make smooth ring station, made out of similar segments, docked to each other at a small degree.

Is the idea/mechanic possible? The only thing coming to my head (I've never done rails before, last time I've played before they were introduced) is to rotate a 45 degree block on a small speed and turn it off half-way through. Will that create a smaller angle, or block will still rotate untill it is 45 deg. even without logic input? (I guess this will actually happen).

Reaction score
    • Master Builder Gold
    • Councillor 2 Gold
    • Video Genius
    I am guessing you know that by connecting 8 activation blocks to a rail rotator will give you options for rotating anything on it for 45 degrees,each activator you activate will give you additional 45 degrees of rotation,so 1/8 45° ,2/8 90° ,3/8 135° ,4/8 180° ,etc.
    but I have no idea (never tried) to stop a rail with a speed controller in the middle of rotation

Reaction score
    I am guessing you know that by connecting 8 activation blocks to a rail rotator will give you options for rotating anything on it for 45 degrees,each activator you activate will give you additional 45 degrees of rotation,so 1/8 45° ,2/8 90° ,3/8 135° ,4/8 180° ,etc.
    but I have no idea (never tried) to stop a rail with a speed controller in the middle of rotation
    Yes, I watched a tutorial and I know that there are 45*X angles possible. But I need something like, for example, dodecagon (18 degrees I guess)
    [DOUBLEPOST=1452298673,1452298259][/DOUBLEPOST]I also came up to the idea of opening CAD and making something with angled lines to test, but chance of finding a proection with flat-alined section looks distant now

Attachments

Reaction score