Bug Game Does Not Start ~ No loading at all

Reaction score
    Hello all,

Before I begin, I'm a C++ developer - so if the dev's come across this post, don't be afraid to get technical.

Since the latest update, I cannot start starmade. The launcher works as expected - however pressing start causes the Javaw runtime to load, then it closes before the starmade window opens.

The bug tracker doesn't appear to have an existing bug for this specific issue - and the only similar issue (the 100% loading bug) does not appear to be related.

I haven't filed a bug in the tracker as of yet, as I wanted to see if there was a known fix, like a funky configuration file - or a Java run-time issue.

I have noted at least one other user on the forum - syzygy - has this problem.

I'm running the latest version of Java, and have a Geforce GT 530 in this machine - I'll be trying again with my rig at home a little later.

Attachments

Reaction score
    Open cmd.exe and run these two commands:
    Code:
    cd \path\to\StarMade
    java -jar StarMade.jar -force
    That should give you an error, including a stacktrace.
    There is one relatively current issue that might, or might not, be related: http://bugs.star-made.org/issues/289
    It's stated Resolved, but that doesn't necessarily always mean it's fixed. :D

Reaction score
    Aye, I'm getting a drop close by (line 892) I'll assume the line difference is due to code differences else-ware.

Shall I stick this on the ticket?
    P.s. I'm also using a custom theme - seems that's the killer.

Can you not call the standard win32 functions for window generation?

Attachments

Reaction score
    Update - Dropping to windows classic allows me to launch the game ~ though it's a hack of a workaround.

Reaction score
    Shall I stick this on the ticket?