Expected ship stats per mass / various noob questions

Olxinos

French fry. Caution: very salty!
    Reaction score
    Good evening,

I'm pretty new to starmade and wanted to give ship creation a shot (well that's what the game is about after all, and i've seen so many awesome ships that i'm eager to build my own too x] )
    I'm still feeling a bit uneasy with in-game building though, which doesn't help with the esthetics, so I decided to get a grasp of starmade mechanics and make efficient ships beforehand as it should require more "off-game thinking" to achieve good results.

Unfortunately, starmade being an alpha and very prone to changes, I didn't find any good "documentation" about:
    - the order of magnitude of the expected stats for a ship (for instance, 5m shields for a 50k ship, is it good or bad? what about the weapons? the energy consumption?)
    - precise formulas for weapon damage/energy consumption (among other things), besides, sometimes the wiki(s) gives outdated information, sometimes the information is right but the "game is wrong" (for instance the powersupply beams consume less than the wiki suggests, but it seems to be a bug, and not an update), it doesn't really help sorting out which is right, which is wrong, and which is sort of right but currently bugged
    - what is currently used by the majority of ship builders? set aside sheer force, what are the must-have weapons/counters? (for instance, if i'm not mistaken, lock-on/heatseeker missiles are widely used and many people use cannon/cannon or cannon/missile turrets to take them down, on the other hand, pulse is rarely used due to its very short range, but it seems to be pretty basic stuff, and there might be niche uses)