Warp Gate base distance

    Discussion in 'Game Support' started by FatCobra, Dec 5, 2018 at 5:40 PM.

    1. FatCobra

      Joined:
      Jun 24, 2015
      Messages:
      243
      Is it possible with 2.0 to adjust the base Warp Gate distance?
       
    2. MrGrey1

      Joined:
      Feb 10, 2017
      Messages:
      206
      The default values are in starmade/data/config/blockBehaviorConfig.xml
      Code (Text):

      <BlockBehavior>
      <WarpGate>
                      <BasicValues>
                              <!-- OLD POWER-->
                              <PowerNeededPerGateBlock>100</PowerNeededPerGateBlock> <!-- constant power consumption to keep the gate active -->
                              <PowerNeededPerMass>100</PowerNeededPerMass> <!-- to Jump, the One Time Power Expense is shipMass * PowerNeededPerMass at the time of jumping-->
                              <DistanceInSectors>64</DistanceInSectors> <!-- default: 4 systems -->
                             
                              <!-- NEW POWER -->
                              <ReactorPowerNeededPerBlockPerSec>10</ReactorPowerNeededPerBlockPerSec> <!-- Reactor power needed per Second (there is no resting state) -->
                              <ReactorPowerNeededPow>1.3</ReactorPowerNeededPow> <!-- exponential power usage -->
                      </BasicValues>
      </WarpGate>
      </BlockBehavior>
       
      Copy that into starmade/customBlockBehaviorConfig/customBlockBehaviorConfig.xml and adjust the values as required. Afaik the setting for distance hasn't changed and applies to both new and old gates alike.
       
    3. NeonSturm

      NeonSturm StormMaker

      Joined:
      Dec 31, 2013
      Messages:
      4,996
      It would be more realistic to have power consumption be (1/4)*(1/4) of blocks (squared side) - or have it cubic like ships.
      Alternatively, have limited mass per block. But the buff to small gates is welcome too.

      We already have limited mass / reactor size.
      Because you only have that much power in storage.

      There is no windup/chargeup time.
       
    4. FatCobra

      Joined:
      Jun 24, 2015
      Messages:
      243
    Loading...