Star Trek Voyager

    DrTarDIS

    Eldrich Timelord
    Joined
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages
    1,084
    Reaction score
    293
    Is there any way to put up a drawing of the chain of blocks you are talking about? I'm somewhat of a visual person but would love to understand!

    Hope that's clear to you. I'll re-explain the function in detail just in case. You can kinda see the compressed/installed version in the background above the various doors on deck 1

    area trigger controller sends a "change" signal to any logic touching it
    -> button touching AT Controller gets turned "on" whenever someone passes through trigger, and turns itself "off" half second later
    -> button sends it's "on"(and half second later, "off") signal to the 1st delay, that delay sends to second delay, second delay sends to third delay, (and onward as many half seconds as you want the door to stay open)
    -> the button, and all delay each sends it's "on" to the "or" block in turn
    ->"or" block sends it's "on" to the "not" (in this picture the "not" is "off"orange, but it SHOULD be blue, i didn't "boot up" the system by pressing the button before I took the capture, you should push the button after connecting everything)
    ->"not" block takes the "on" signal so goes "off", -> controled plexdoors "open"
    (the "not" defaults to "off" when placed like all other logic, should be always "blue" / closed unless there have been area trigger activation for the circuit to work. when the circ is "primed" after first use it's fine, but will fail that use in order to "prime" the "not")


    So, when someone goes through the area trigger, the button turns "on", which turns the "or" block "on", which turns the "not" block "off" and opens the plexdoors.
    The "or" block stays "on" as long as any block feeding into it is "on", so your "delay-chain" determines how long the plexdoors stay "open"

    If you want to use this for rail-doors you just harvest the "on" signal from 2 points
    ->You use the "on" from the "or" to activate the << >> "open"rail orientation
    ->You use the "on" from the "not" to activate the >><< "closed" rail orientation
    (this version does not care about the "not" being "primed". it's "stay open" "or" timer is the same delay chain)

    Clear enough?

    AS for placement of the area triggers being controlled by the controller, it's good to make sure they cover at least 2 blockspaces away from the door, and built at least 2-3 high off the floor. This makes sure there's enough time for the game to realize it needs to use logic, and that players have enough time to realize the door is already open so they don't press "r" and trap themselves :)


    (a crude ASCI top-down layout)

    FTTTTF
    TTTTTT
    - -DD--
    TTTTTT
    FTTTTF


    **protip for rail-doors: if you face the docker INTO your core on the door, and use picup (green) rails, you can save some space with the core "clipping through" the green rails. needs atleast a temporary "pickup point" to dock it to though.
     
    Last edited:
    Joined
    Jun 30, 2015
    Messages
    49
    Reaction score
    18
    • Purchased!
    • Community Content - Bronze 1
    I'm still interested in participating in this, I've just been pretty absent from the game lately, sorry :(
    Cool, I'll add you to the list I'm starting. I'm looking for a core of builders and others can come and go as they please. We need specialists in the various parts of it but you seem so far to be a specialist in every aspect. Probably the easiest way to go about it is to smedit import stuff that has been built in *that other voxel game* and then build the starmade version next to it as a separate ship from scratch so we get the dimensions and layout from the import but can put the core where ever we need. If only smedit were updated to the current blueprint version so we could move cores around with it.

    I'll be writing and posting about the build crew later, keep an eye out for it. I might also be commenting on it in a thread about the server that Toasterborst is getting together too, since that's where it'll be going down.
     
    Joined
    Mar 30, 2015
    Messages
    46
    Reaction score
    36
    • Purchased!
    • Legacy Citizen
    BOOM THREAD REVIVAL!!!

    Yeah yeah, I know it's been long enough to deem this thread "ancient" by the powers that be, but I have been finally trying to get back at this. I am on deck 6 now which features a two-story holodeck right in the middle. The bow to mid-ship is made up of quarters, so that's pretty boring. The aft-section is made up of systems modules, which is also a bit boring. But the next deck down and we will be into really interesting stuff including a ship that was included in the design for Voyager but never actually used on the show. Anyway, on to the pictures!

    Screen Shot 2017-01-31 at 12.04.21 AM.jpg Screen Shot 2017-01-31 at 12.04.31 AM.jpg Screen Shot 2017-01-31 at 12.04.56 AM copy.jpg Screen Shot 2017-01-31 at 12.05.31 AM copy.jpg
     
    Joined
    Jun 30, 2015
    Messages
    49
    Reaction score
    18
    • Purchased!
    • Community Content - Bronze 1
    Sweet! I think the new grid blocks might work nice for the holodeck emitters, even. Good work.
     
    Joined
    Sep 15, 2017
    Messages
    3
    Reaction score
    0
    Really like this thread. How is the ship doing, given that the thread is now officially "ancient" again?
     
    Joined
    Mar 30, 2015
    Messages
    46
    Reaction score
    36
    • Purchased!
    • Legacy Citizen
    Well, lets just say I'm living in Crew-Quarters Purgatory. Deck 6 is almost entirely made up up of crews quarters and it is the second largest deck. Right now I am working my way towards the front of the ship, where I will get to do something interesting in building the secondary deflector shield. The secondary computer is also partially housed on this deck, and the aft section is mostly for waste management tanks. Until then, I am filling the deck with places for fictional characters to sleep.
     

    Attachments

    • Like
    Reactions: darknassius

    DrTarDIS

    Eldrich Timelord
    Joined
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages
    1,084
    Reaction score
    293
    wow, that is a lot of standard armor. crew-quarters hell is painful. Have you tried making some copy-paste "furniture" to just blat down at random?

    Good luck!
     
    Joined
    Mar 30, 2015
    Messages
    46
    Reaction score
    36
    • Purchased!
    • Legacy Citizen
    It's all Advanced Armour. Unfortunately. There is going to have to be an aft to stern retro-fit after the initial design is completed. This is part of a.) starting an ambitious project when new to playing a game and learning as you go, and b.) the migration of an old macbook pro to a new macbook pro. The migration transferred the ship in its entirety, but all of the connections between logic blocks are somehow messed up. Turbo lifts that worked now do not, escape pods that launched and docked no do not. Frustrating, but I'm undaunted. I've put 200 hours to get where I am now and I am determined to finish this, even if it takes a long time.

    Unfortunately the copy-paste function is not working properly. There seems to be all sorts of bugs that have cropped up with the install on the new computer. As you can see in one of the pictures, the block preview also does not work which is also slowing me down. I reported the bug but it effects so few people that there doesn't seem to be support for it.
     

    DrTarDIS

    Eldrich Timelord
    Joined
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages
    1,084
    Reaction score
    293
    It's all Advanced Armour. Unfortunately. There is going to have to be an aft to stern retro-fit after the initial design is completed. This is part of a.) starting an ambitious project when new to playing a game and learning as you go, and b.) the migration of an old macbook pro to a new macbook pro. The migration transferred the ship in its entirety, but all of the connections between logic blocks are somehow messed up. Turbo lifts that worked now do not, escape pods that launched and docked no do not. Frustrating, but I'm undaunted. I've put 200 hours to get where I am now and I am determined to finish this, even if it takes a long time.

    Unfortunately the copy-paste function is not working properly. There seems to be all sorts of bugs that have cropped up with the install on the new computer. As you can see in one of the pictures, the block preview also does not work which is also slowing me down. I reported the bug but it effects so few people that there doesn't seem to be support for it.
    Tried switching to your OS's java instead of the packaged java?(or vice versa)
     

    DrTarDIS

    Eldrich Timelord
    Joined
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages
    1,084
    Reaction score
    293
    launcher, options cog top right, "java path"
     
    Joined
    Jul 10, 2013
    Messages
    625
    Reaction score
    478
    • Community Content - Bronze 2
    • Purchased!
    • Legacy Citizen 7
    As you can see in one of the pictures, the block preview also does not work which is also slowing me down. I reported the bug but it effects so few people that there doesn't seem to be support for it.
    try turning "normal lighting" off. On my linux set up i don't see a lot of things without fast lighting enabled.
     
    Joined
    Mar 30, 2015
    Messages
    46
    Reaction score
    36
    • Purchased!
    • Legacy Citizen
    launcher, options cog top right, "java path"
    I can't locate the Java folder on my Mac. It seems to run as a virtual machine, and is folded into the newest OSX (Sierra). I've dug through my hidden Library directory and no dice. :(

    try turning "normal lighting" off. On my linux set up i don't see a lot of things without fast lighting enabled.
    I'm headed there to try it right now!

    ...and no dice. Damn. Thank you very much for the recommendation though!
     
    Joined
    Mar 30, 2015
    Messages
    46
    Reaction score
    36
    • Purchased!
    • Legacy Citizen
    I did something interesting!... kind of... a bit more interesting than crew quarters. I did the hull for the Secondary Deflector Shield. I'm planning on doing the guts of the deflector (located within the ships interior) tomorrow on my day off. This is a small update, but a meaningful one for me. It's the first time I have done anything not crew quarters related in about 6 months. I'm nearing the end of quarters, ignoring all of the retrofitting that is... The last photo is the image I have been referencing, as well as this https://vignette.wikia.nocookie.net...ision/latest?cb=20060722221726&path-prefix=en image located on Memory Alpha.
     

    Attachments

    Last edited:
    • Like
    Reactions: darknassius
    Joined
    Mar 30, 2015
    Messages
    46
    Reaction score
    36
    • Purchased!
    • Legacy Citizen
    Here is the completed interior of the Secondary Deflector Dish. In the shot looking over the panels, you can see the entry into the Jeffrey's Tubes.
     

    Attachments

    • Like
    Reactions: darknassius
    Joined
    Mar 30, 2015
    Messages
    46
    Reaction score
    36
    • Purchased!
    • Legacy Citizen
    Another update, the secondary computer core. This was a bit piecemeal, as I was unable to locate any resources dealing directly with the Intrepid Class computer cores. I used a mix of images and schematics from other types of starships (such as Enterprise which has a scene set in the computer core, as well as some Star Trek Online resources), and laid them onto the deck-plans I have to come up with what I did. Hope you like it.

    The Secondary Computer Core is a two-story room. I used EMP Effect Modules to build the computer cores, seemed the right colour. Both stacks of computers are contained in a separated room from the controls, and there is a forcefield that can be taken down to perform service on the stacks. Deck 6 contains a room of pull modules, to make it possible to use a tractor been, and Deck 7 contains a room full of push modules, in order to be able to reverse the tractor beam.
     

    Attachments