SMEdit conversion database

    Joined
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages
    389
    Reaction score
    99
    • Purchased!
    • Legacy Citizen 5
    • Community Content - Bronze 1
    I dont believe so. I think imported obj. to ship blueprints still works, but it wont open anything coming out of starmade now. I cant even get smedit to start up now though
     

    Reilly Reese

    #1 Top Forum Poster & Raiben Jackpot Winner
    Joined
    Oct 13, 2013
    Messages
    5,134
    Reaction score
    1,344
    • Thinking Positive
    • Purchased!
    • Legacy Citizen 6
    No you can not open ships from the newer builds.
     
    Joined
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages
    59
    Reaction score
    21
    • Legacy Citizen
    • Community Content - Bronze 1
    It should be mentioned, these hulls are incredibly well built, but not for the faint of heart, or the slow PC. The Leviathan class from EVE for instance is reknowned as one of the largest ships in sci-fi, ever. You can then expect it to be big. And indeed it is. The single hull comprises of 3.5 million hull blocks, and is almost 2k blocks long, actually it's only two blocks short of two kilometers. It's almost hard for someone to wrap their mind around. It's also scaled perfectly to 1:6th scale.

    If anyone can get a screeny of what 1:1 looks like in game, I would love to see it. The hulls can be scaled up thanks to SMedit, but I'm not sure theres a personal computer in existence that can handle it. I'm currently working to make the leviathan a bit more practicle to use in game, and I know that before I'm done I'll likely have broken the 25 million block milestone. A new class of vessel will have to be made up just to accommodate it. Maybe two classes.
     
    Joined
    Feb 26, 2014
    Messages
    270
    Reaction score
    52
    • Purchased!
    • Community Content - Bronze 1
    • Legacy Citizen 4
    i wish there was some star trek ships on here since i am a big fan of star trek but i can not build hulls so if you could add some like a saber class star ship, sovereign class star ship or maybe a ambassador class i would be very happy since i would love to go around servers in one of them ships
     

    CyberTao

    鬼佬
    Joined
    Nov 10, 2013
    Messages
    2,566
    Reaction score
    642
    • Legacy Citizen 4
    • Railman Gold
    • Thinking Positive
    I would, but the titans are so huge that it's kind of intimidating to do so.
    Well, The ships by default are not symmetrical (cause of the voxelization), and uni-coloured as well.
    Due to the current limitations of the current SMedit (Not sure on it's process), I don't know if someone could even edit it.

    I would do it for you, but SMedit lags horribly for me with even 500m ships x- x (Via an old version of Starmade and SM-edit)
     

    Criss

    Social Media Director
    Joined
    Jun 25, 2013
    Messages
    2,186
    Reaction score
    1,761
    • Master Builder Bronze
    • Video Genius
    • Competition Winner - Stations
    It should be mentioned, these hulls are incredibly well built, but not for the faint of heart, or the slow PC. The Leviathan class from EVE for instance is reknowned as one of the largest ships in sci-fi, ever. You can then expect it to be big. And indeed it is. The single hull comprises of 3.5 million hull blocks, and is almost 2k blocks long, actually it's only two blocks short of two kilometers. It's almost hard for someone to wrap their mind around. It's also scaled perfectly to 1:6th scale.

    If anyone can get a screeny of what 1:1 looks like in game, I would love to see it. The hulls can be scaled up thanks to SMedit, but I'm not sure theres a personal computer in existence that can handle it. I'm currently working to make the leviathan a bit more practicle to use in game, and I know that before I'm done I'll likely have broken the 25 million block milestone. A new class of vessel will have to be made up just to accommodate it. Maybe two classes.
    So basically you cannot actually load in more than 20000 segments (chunks) of stuff at once. Its just a limit built into the game. You can render ships up to that number. I recently did a video showing off a 5 kilometer dreadnought in 1:1.
    Anyway, I am sure you could find a computer strong enough to render the ridiculousness that is a leviathan full scale but its not really worth it. 2 kilometers seems to be the most that good gaming computers can handle currently.
     
    • Like
    Reactions: Master_Artificer
    Joined
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages
    59
    Reaction score
    21
    • Legacy Citizen
    • Community Content - Bronze 1
    So basically you cannot actually load in more than 20000 segments (chunks) of stuff at once. Its just a limit built into the game. You can render ships up to that number. I recently did a video showing off a 5 kilometer dreadnought in 1:1.
    Anyway, I am sure you could find a computer strong enough to render the ridiculousness that is a leviathan full scale but its not really worth it. 2 kilometers seems to be the most that good gaming computers can handle currently.
    I'll admit, I'm VERY impressed. To be honest, my computer probably could handle a 5k ship, might even be able to handle more, but the issue is filling it with systems, not to mention that these ships handle like their name sakes. A 2 kilometer ship in starmade is like the nazi supertank, the maus, which was so big it couldn't use bridges and had a snorkel so the crew could breath and drive through rivers. It's unweildy and almost impossible to use. I was filling the 2k long ship with energy and shield blocks, had the thing up to 5 mil shield regen a second, 100 mil energy regen a sec, 1.3 billion energy storage and 120 million shield, and something like 18 million blocks. A full size ship WOULDN'T be able to enter a solar system, and this thing wouldn't be able to get close to a planet. It's just a good job it has turret points and weapons commonly work out to 1 km, maybe 2km.

    Even still, when this thing is even a quarter filled, I'd be down to something like 15 FPS. Thats what I was at before I ran out of all 10gb of memory I gave the game.
     
    Joined
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages
    63
    Reaction score
    7
    I'm trying to rip some files from Sins of a Solar Empire: Rebellion to post here, it's a .mesh file, could someone help me out with a program to convert them to .obj so I can add some shells to this list?
     
    • Like
    Reactions: CyberTao
    Joined
    Aug 31, 2013
    Messages
    633
    Reaction score
    846
    • Master Builder Bronze
    • Competition Winner - Small Fleets
    • Legacy Citizen 5
    it's difficult as of now without an old build of starmade, but you can do it with binvox and smedit and the old starmade build. they can be found with a quick search.
    then for converting 3d models, I use babel3d (though i was a free-trial user so i quit after a week since i'd have to pay otherwise)
     
    Joined
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages
    63
    Reaction score
    7
    I downloaded babel3d earlier as you suggested and it wasn't able to decompile or view the files, unfortunately. I may have to Isanth a copy of 3DSMax for this (and only) this purpose, as the SoaSE forums suggest that may be the only way. That being said, I'd find it remarkable if there was no 3rd party script for importing those files. Ah well, I'll update you all if I make progress ^_^;
     
    Joined
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages
    389
    Reaction score
    278
    • Video Genius
    • Legacy Citizen 2
    • Community Content - Bronze 1