Rotating "Hull" Turret Design (Need some help)

Reaction score
    //Resolved Issue\\ Thanks guys!

Hey guys. I'm new to Starmade Forums (this being my first post), but I've been playing on and off for a while now.

Recently I had the idea to have a skeleton-type ship frame with turrets making the actual body. My end-plan design is that there isn't hardly any actual hull (save bridge, propulsion, etc)(which can also be fit into a turret module with proper design)

It's hard to explain, so I'll attach pictures and elaborate.
    Real quick, I'm going to say modules. They're my idea that I can detach an entire piece of my ship, switch to another piece with a different weapon/turret system (that I have pre-built somewhere), and swap it out without major overhauls.
    starmade-screenshot-0000.png starmade-screenshot-0004.png starmade-screenshot-0001.png

In the first picture is my (unfinished) ship with two modules. I rotated it slightly to show where the hulls are different. When realigned via c (second/third pictures) you can see that the two pieces fit perfectly, allowing full range of motion.
    starmade-screenshot-0007.png
    starmade-screenshot-0006.png

The turrets can twist back to face rear, while the modules can rotate counter/clockwise no problem. I should have a 360 by 360 firing solution at all times and nothing should be going wrong.

Except the AI won't do its job. For some reason that I can't figure out, my turrets refuse to move more than the slightest bit to attack something. They still fire if I'm faced directly at the target, but if I fly below/above/around something they won't swivel around, they stay faced forward.

Also, note that this is my first post, I didn't mean to put this in the wrong forum if I did.

Last edited:
    Reaction score
    • Community Content - Bronze 2
    • Purchased!
    • Thinking Positive