1. We've removed some functionality from SMD in preparation for a migration to new forum software.

    Ridiculously High Ping

    Discussion in 'Game Support' started by Micro753, Jan 20, 2017.

    Tags:
    1. Micro753

      Joined:
      Jan 25, 2014
      Messages:
      95
      I've set up a server for some friends, and one is always getting extremely high ping (1000-10000). Both pcs are mid-high end gaming pcs, and the server is set to use 16 GB of the system's 32 GB of RAM. Other pcs have no problems, and the one with problems has no ping issues on other games, not even other java games, such as Minecraft. He completely deleted his StarMade game and reinstalled but is still getting high ping. Both pcs are using the java version bundled with StarMade, are 64 bit systems, and neither is going above 10% CPU usage.

      I attached the logs from both the server pc and the pc having issues. We deleted everything in the logs folder on both pcs and ran the server with only him connected, so the logs are definitely the correct ones.
       

      Attached Files:

    2. SmilingDemon

      Joined:
      Jul 17, 2013
      Messages:
      1,439
      looks like your friend liked to place the games settings to Max ... remove the settings.cfg to reset to default and try again for comparison
       
    3. Micro753

      Joined:
      Jan 25, 2014
      Messages:
      95
      The system is using two gtx 950s with sli, so we didn't think that would be it. Will try it anyways, thanks.

      Edit: He said he did a clean install already. Does the settings automatically set based on your system?
      --- Updated post (merge), Jan 21, 2017, Original Post Date: Jan 21, 2017 ---
      Doesn't seem to change anything. He also disabled steam cloud for steam to be sure it wasn't that. He also tried connecting to other servers, and has the same problem with ping. What seems strange is our laptops, which have worse hardware, can connect and run on the server just fine, even with the settings maxed out. FPS suffers a little, but ping is fine. Any other ideas?
       
    4. SmilingDemon

      Joined:
      Jul 17, 2013
      Messages:
      1,439
      i would guess its his network when everyone else is fine (obviously not server related then)
      is he using a wireless connection maybe ?
       
    5. Micro753

      Joined:
      Jan 25, 2014
      Messages:
      95
      Yes, but he has no problems with any other games. We checked his internet connection, and he is getting 30/32 upload/download. His router has had problems in the past, but seems to be fine right now. We'll call the internet company though to ask them about it. Thanks.
       
    6. DrTarDIS

      DrTarDIS Eldrich Timelord

      Joined:
      Jan 16, 2014
      Messages:
      1,014
      router is probably discarding packets. Tell them to try DMZ. also, try using a wired connection.
       
    Loading...