Ridiculously High Ping

    Joined
    Jan 25, 2014
    Messages
    95
    Reaction score
    52
    • Community Content - Bronze 1
    • Purchased!
    • Legacy Citizen 2
    I've set up a server for some friends, and one is always getting extremely high ping (1000-10000). Both pcs are mid-high end gaming pcs, and the server is set to use 16 GB of the system's 32 GB of RAM. Other pcs have no problems, and the one with problems has no ping issues on other games, not even other java games, such as Minecraft. He completely deleted his StarMade game and reinstalled but is still getting high ping. Both pcs are using the java version bundled with StarMade, are 64 bit systems, and neither is going above 10% CPU usage.

    I attached the logs from both the server pc and the pc having issues. We deleted everything in the logs folder on both pcs and ran the server with only him connected, so the logs are definitely the correct ones.
     

    Attachments

    Joined
    Jul 17, 2013
    Messages
    1,439
    Reaction score
    207
    • Tester
    looks like your friend liked to place the games settings to Max ... remove the settings.cfg to reset to default and try again for comparison
     
    Joined
    Jan 25, 2014
    Messages
    95
    Reaction score
    52
    • Community Content - Bronze 1
    • Purchased!
    • Legacy Citizen 2
    looks like your friend liked to place the games settings to Max ... remove the settings.cfg to reset to default and try again for comparison
    The system is using two gtx 950s with sli, so we didn't think that would be it. Will try it anyways, thanks.

    Edit: He said he did a clean install already. Does the settings automatically set based on your system?
    [doublepost=1485010592,1485009756][/doublepost]Doesn't seem to change anything. He also disabled steam cloud for steam to be sure it wasn't that. He also tried connecting to other servers, and has the same problem with ping. What seems strange is our laptops, which have worse hardware, can connect and run on the server just fine, even with the settings maxed out. FPS suffers a little, but ping is fine. Any other ideas?
     
    Joined
    Jul 17, 2013
    Messages
    1,439
    Reaction score
    207
    • Tester
    i would guess its his network when everyone else is fine (obviously not server related then)
    is he using a wireless connection maybe ?
     
    Joined
    Jan 25, 2014
    Messages
    95
    Reaction score
    52
    • Community Content - Bronze 1
    • Purchased!
    • Legacy Citizen 2
    Yes, but he has no problems with any other games. We checked his internet connection, and he is getting 30/32 upload/download. His router has had problems in the past, but seems to be fine right now. We'll call the internet company though to ask them about it. Thanks.
     

    DrTarDIS

    Eldrich Timelord
    Joined
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages
    1,024
    Reaction score
    279
    router is probably discarding packets. Tell them to try DMZ. also, try using a wired connection.