Radar Jammed but shot at by pirate station turrets?

Reaction score
    • Purchased!
    • Legacy Citizen 4
    I'm kind of new to this whole idea of jamming - nevermind cloaking - but from what I gathered, jammed ships are not supposed to be shot at by turrets or any AI in the game. Yet when my jamer was green I was constantly being pummeled by those bloody pirates ^^

On a side note:

I'm experiencing a weird glitch which makes the server think that my ship hasn't got enough energy to stay Jammed even though it has. It even happens when I am stationary. I figure it's most likely due to lag so I had to redesign my ship to allow some room for when the bug happens to stop my ship from un-jamming but occasionally it still happens. (I have more than enough energy to remain permanently jammed while stationary AND while on the move as well as a ton of buffering energy in tanks so it's not a design flaw :S).

Reaction score
    It might be the cloak that keeps pirate turrets off you, not the radarjammer, i don\'t really remember though. I like to have a 1 second buffer (or more) when I make a stealth ship, although it still drops out at the worst possible times. Once I flew ~60 sectors cloaked+jammed, then I saw a big pirate ship with lots of turrets, then one of the stealths failed and I went immediately back to my spawn point :(

Reaction score
    Yeah, it\'s the cloak that stops NPCs from shooting at you, also the jammer turning off on its own is a bug or some such with the server lagging and not regenerating power enough to keep it running.

AndyP

Customer Experience Manager
    Reaction score
    • Schine
    • Wired for Logic
    Cloak only: No fire from ships (But sometimes, they follow you), no fire from turrets
    Jam only: No fire from ships, turrets fire on you
    Cloak and Jam: No fire at all.

So its partly working as intended.
    Cloak should make them follow, but not fire.
    Jam should make them fire, but with awful targeting.