Prevent salvaging of entities with shield regen, like asteroids or planets

Yes, it makes sense that only weapons can be used to destroy entities with shield regen

• Agree, this would make outposts a viable game strategy

• No, I'm a troll and want to sneak up in a cloaked ship and steal all ur blocks.

Results are only viewable after voting.
    Reaction score
    • Purchased!
    • Legacy Citizen 5
    This would be fairly easy to add to the game as it wouldn't require any new blocks. Basically, the idea is, if an entity is able to recharge shields (has both power blocks and a shield recharger), then salvage beams can't be used on it.

This would make things like asteroid bases more viable, and require enemies to attack the base, rather than blast it with salvage beams and steal blocks without ever having to take down the shields of the entity.

I started playing on a server again that doesn't allow blueprints, so I built my first ship with a shipyard attached to an asteroid. It was actually pretty cool looking (the server also gave a 100-unit bonus to mining by hand, vs. n no bonus for mining with salvagers, which I though was really cool). Unfortunately I had to destroy it because anyone with salvage beams could come by and make it vanish, shielded or not.

Preventing salvaging on entities a player has built on and intends to protect (by placing shield rechargers) would make outpost like these viable, and could make the game far more interesting.

Reactions: Tunk

sayerulz

Identifies as a T-34
    Reaction score
    • Community Content - Bronze 1
    • Legacy Citizen 3
    With the addition that overheating things could still be salvaged, this could work.

Reaction score
    I think you should just use a station with a faction module and achieve exactly the same thing. Asteroids can be pushed around anyway (depending on settings), so even if you had a shielded asteroid, someone could steal it by pushing it.

Reaction score
    • Purchased!