DPS Advice for a newbie?

Reaction score
    Ok, so I'm still pretty new to the game, and I've been working on my first decently sized cruiser (21,977 mass, 450m long, 77m tall, 69m wide).

My problem is with the ship's turrets. At the moment it has two main triple barrelled turrets, which deal 600 DPS per barrel (1200 damage per projectile) and have a block penetration of 14.

Now, I don't really have a point of reference here, but that seems horribly underpowered based on the ship's size...

so, I guess my question is, would any more experienced players be able to tell me roughly how much DPS / penetration the main guns of a ship this size should deal out?

Thanks in advance :^D

Here are some pics if you want a better idea of the ship:

Last edited:
    Reaction score
    That long pointy bow is just crying for some spinal weaponry. Consider, as a rough ballpark figure to just throw out there, a 500 beam/ 500 beam/ 500 ion in the center and dual 300 beam/ 300 beam/ 30 explosives on either side of it, if you can get them to fit. You could also double up on those turrets by putting a pair on the bottom too.

I'm a newb myself who hasn't really built anything particularly large, so I could be guessing a little offbase size-wise, and I don't know what your power situation is.

Reaction score
    It's pretty weak.

My fighter frame, which is kind of pretty weak too, cause I'm a newb, has 4 cannons with 5k dps (500 dmg per shot) each and 8 missile launchers with 10k damage (222dps). It also fits it all in a 30x30x30 dimensions because I wanted to be able to template it if need be.

Your ship is 200+ times bigger and should have at the very least 6 times the energy production of my fighter (2 millions of energy per second). So at very least you should have around 150k dps. Or maybe some weapons with very large alpha strike damage. Or both.

Reactions: Scratchmort
    Reaction score
    Just make the turret barrel parts bigger :-p