[Discussion] Tired of hearing "soon"? Thoughts on the Q&A

Reaction score
    Okay, so, I'm new to StarMade, but I know a little about coding.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Mythical_Man-Month

The Mythical Man Month is a book by Fred Brooks that says, in essence, adding people to a project after it has started will just make the project later. I would love to see someone else on the Schine team, but I don't think any new people should be added until after the game core is done.

As far as the game being in Alpha goes, it looks to me (correct me if I'm wrong) like it's approaching the end of alpha. Almost all the basic functionality is either there or planned for the next update So why complain about it now? You have to remember that the main point of an alpha build is not to garner a large community (although that couldn't hurt), or even to release frequent updates (although again, it's not a bad idea), but just to build a playable game. Right now, StarMade is ~80-90% playable, with a few kinks (economy being a big one) still to be worked out. Once it goes into beta, however, frequent updates will be required, and it will be important to build up a community. So, all these points people keep bringing up are valid, but not super relevant until the game exits alpha.

I don't think Schine has handled this development perfectly, but considering it's an indie game being developed by one guy, I'm willing to wait for an update. Heck, there's plenty to do in the game as is. So many ship ideas, so little time... And while I do think that new content should be released, IMO, as long as Schema is working steadily, I'm happy. Regular updates aren't very crucial until the game is out of alpha. And I don't see much of a way to speed up the releases.

Still again, releasing in smaller chunks would be nice. First decoration, then new planets, then logic, etc. It would make the interim a little more interesting...
    Ah, I remember this.