Bug Critical issue after new update [Linux]

    JAa

    Joined
    Jan 22, 2016
    Messages
    12
    Reaction score
    0
    After new update game is just not starting - Once launcher disappers jave process is shutting down without any message and that's all. I've been trying to force download entire game but this didn't worked. I am using Ubuntu 14.04 on KDE 4.13.3.

    I am sending log.txt.0:

    [2016-08-03 17:32:59] [VERION] loading version from install dir: ./
    [2016-08-03 17:32:59] [VERSION] VERSION: 0.199.132
    [2016-08-03 17:32:59] [VERSION] BUILD: 20160802_134223
    [2016-08-03 17:32:59] #################### StarMade #######################
    [2016-08-03 17:32:59] # version 0.199.132 - build 20160802_134223 #
    [2016-08-03 17:32:59] #####################################################
    [2016-08-03 17:32:59] [SERIAL] "not retrieved"
    [2016-08-03 17:32:59] [TEXTURE-PACK] WARNING: ignoring shield_tex.png.zip: not a directory
    [2016-08-03 17:32:59] [TEXTURE-PACK] WARNING: ignoring lava.png.zip: not a directory
    [2016-08-03 17:32:59] [TEXTURE-PACK] WARNING: ignoring shield_tex.png.zip: not a directory
    [2016-08-03 17:32:59] [TEXTURE-PACK] WARNING: ignoring lava.png.zip: not a directory
    [2016-08-03 17:32:59] [SETTINGS] WARNING: NO SETTING FOUND: 'F_FRAME_BUFFER_USE = false ' (happens for example when names of settings are changed)
    [2016-08-03 17:32:59] [SETTINGS] WARNING: NO SETTING FOUND: 'G_RAYTRACE_COUNT = 64 ' (happens for example when names of settings are changed)
    [2016-08-03 17:32:59] [SERVER] using world: world0; ./server-database/world0/
    [2016-08-03 17:32:59] [INIT] Segment Database Path: /home/piotr/SM/StarMade/./server-database/world0/DATA; exists? true; is Dir? true; creating dir sucessfull (gives false if exists)? false
    [2016-08-03 17:32:59] [GUI] NO STARMADE-WINDOW CONFIG FOUND. Using defaults
    [2016-08-03 17:32:59] [LIBLOADER] OS Linux - 4.2.0-27-generic
    [2016-08-03 17:32:59] [LIBLOADER] JAVA Oracle Corporation - 1.7.0_95 - /usr/lib/jvm/java-7-openjdk-i386/jre
    [2016-08-03 17:32:59] [LIBLOADER] ARCHITECTURE i386
    [2016-08-03 17:32:59] [LIBLOADER] LOADED LINUX 32bit OPENAL LIBRARIES
    [2016-08-03 17:32:59] Exception in thread "main"
    [2016-08-03 17:32:59] java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: /home/piotr/SM/StarMade/native/linux/libStarMadeNative.so: /usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu/libstdc++.so.6: version `CXXABI_1.3.8' not found (required by /home/piotr/SM/StarMade/native/linux/libStarMadeNative.so)
    [2016-08-03 17:32:59] at java.lang.ClassLoader$NativeLibrary.load(Native Method)
    [2016-08-03 17:32:59] at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadLibrary1(ClassLoader.java:1965)
    [2016-08-03 17:32:59] at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadLibrary0(ClassLoader.java:1890)
    [2016-08-03 17:32:59] at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadLibrary(ClassLoader.java:1880)
    [2016-08-03 17:32:59] at java.lang.Runtime.loadLibrary0(Runtime.java:849)
    [2016-08-03 17:32:59] at java.lang.System.loadLibrary(System.java:1088)
    [2016-08-03 17:32:59] at obfuscated.TC.a(SourceFile:122)
    [2016-08-03 17:32:59] at org.schema.game.common.Starter.main(SourceFile:836)


    I hope you can fix this quickly
     

    JAa

    Joined
    Jan 22, 2016
    Messages
    12
    Reaction score
    0
    Yes. Truly it is intensional and required for what I am doing on this system (I am not referring to plaing starmade). And since Linux is able to use full 4GiB RAM anyway there is no real difference in performance.
     
    Joined
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages
    6
    Reaction score
    0
    • Purchased!
    Code:
    [2016-08-03 17:32:59] java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: /home/piotr/SM/StarMade/native/linux/libStarMadeNative.so: /usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu/libstdc++.so.6: version `CXXABI_1.3.8' not found (required by /home/piotr/SM/StarMade/native/linux/libStarMadeNative.so)
    While you can try starting the launcher with `--debug`, the CXXABI error is most likely the problem. Please update your `libstdc++6`

    If you are i386 only then it's `libstdc++6`. if you are multi-arch try `lib32stdc++6` if that's not available then `libstdc++6:i386`
     

    JAa

    Joined
    Jan 22, 2016
    Messages
    12
    Reaction score
    0
    Thanks for help. However I would like to know something more about this package before I tought it. First I'd like to tell (if it's not clear) that all other game versions are working fine, so this is unlikely java or cpp librerys problem. I may not be specialist but I wouldn't like to modyfy my system blindly, so if you could tell me pleace why do you think this exact package is respancible and what updating it will change in system? I have some experance with Linux and if there is anything I learned it is not to tought anything unless you know exacly what are you doing. You understand;)
     
    Joined
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages
    6
    Reaction score
    0
    • Purchased!
    The problem is that `libStarMadeNative.so` is trying to use the 1.3.8 ABI, (`CXXABI_1.3.8`) which is supposed to be in your `libstdc++.so.6` and not found.

    There are only two ways to solve the problem, install a version of `libstdc++.so.6` that has the ABI required version in it, or get a version of `libStarMadeNative.so` that doesn't rely on the versioned ABI symbols.

    This error shows up in ⚓ T1567 Crash on startup - /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libstdc++.so.6: version `CXXABI_1.3.8' not found and implies that it was fixed in the 64-bit lib, possibly it wasn't against the 32-bit lib. You can alternately try replacing the file from a newer/older version that might not be bound to the newer symbols. I was able to load the i386 release version with the beta launcher last night, however I have very recent versions of the library.
     

    JAa

    Joined
    Jan 22, 2016
    Messages
    12
    Reaction score
    0
    Thanks for reply. I've tried to update libstdc++6 but I've got answer that it is already in latest version. More than that while reading thread you sent me I've noticed that one person posted "Have same bug when starting the game. will not move past 50% in the initial lanch screen and beta launcher crashes straight to desk top". I've got 50% loading problem with one of older versions which was fixed and that fix worked for me. However this problem makes game window not appear at all, so this seams to be completely different issue. I haven't tried to replace starmade library from older versions, so I will write something more once I try this as well. Thanks for reply anyway.
     

    JAa

    Joined
    Jan 22, 2016
    Messages
    12
    Reaction score
    0
    I've tried to replace libStarMadeNative.so with older version. First - you are correct about file - last working starmade version is one that uses previous version of libStarMadeNative.so. However new version with old libStarMadeNative.so didn't run as well (just same effect or maybe same no effect).
     
    Joined
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages
    6
    Reaction score
    0
    • Purchased!
    I did some more digging and found that the previously mentioned phab does resolve the issue only for x86_64 so you have some options here to get un-blocked

    1) Use the 64bit JDK (system, or the one with the 64-bit launcher), it sounds like your mutli-arch but only 4GB, if so this is the easiest thing to do. I don't expect you to see this problem as it will load the 64 library which isn't bound to a newer version of libstdc++6
    2) You can upgrade your system libstdc++6. You will have to find a newer repo and pick the package from there, if you are multi-arch and your default is x64, this isn't that tragic, but your mileage will vary
    3) You can find a newer version of the shared libstdc++6 object and then export the path to it.

    export LD_LIBRARY_PATH="/path/to/sdk/lib"

    This will cause your current shell to include this path too when looking for a library, this allows you to test if the newer lib will resolve the issue.

    In the mean time, I've spoken with the the team over at testing and updated the Phab ticket, it should get re-opened and addressed.
     

    JAa

    Joined
    Jan 22, 2016
    Messages
    12
    Reaction score
    0
    Well, I've tried first two options now, but it didn't worked

    1) 64bit java doesn't install on 32bit linux, I had some experience when this solved some problems on windows but I can't install it on Ubuntu.
    2) libstdc++6 is already on latest version available for my system, so there is no way to update it automatically. Reinstalling this package didn't worked as well.
    3) I do not know how to check actual version so I do not know what version i am looking for to update manually.

    So I am still waiting for help...
     
    Joined
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages
    6
    Reaction score
    0
    • Purchased!
    You'd want to get the package from debain/sid for the latest, or xenial and extract the library from it and use the export LD_LIBRARY_PATH to wherever you extracted it from.

    As an aside, You will continue to run into problems like this attempting to game on an Linux operating system with packages that are from over two years ago and on an i386 only arch. If your processor supports x86_64, you should highly consider switching it to the default arch (even if you don't have more than 4 GB ram), and doing multi-arch to i386 when needed for some weird game/application.
     
    Joined
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages
    6
    Reaction score
    0
    • Purchased!
    Today's update is unlikely to help

    Code:
    Version References:
      required from libm.so.6:
        0x0d696911 0x00 08 GLIBC_2.1
        0x0d696910 0x00 06 GLIBC_2.0
      required from libstdc++.so.6:
        0x056bafd3 0x00 07 CXXABI_1.3
        0x0bafd178 0x00 04 CXXABI_1.3.8
        0x08922974 0x00 03 GLIBCXX_3.4
      required from libc.so.6:
        0x09691f73 0x00 11 GLIBC_2.1.3
        0x09691a74 0x00 10 GLIBC_2.2.4
        0x0d696914 0x00 09 GLIBC_2.4
        0x09691974 0x00 05 GLIBC_2.3.4
        0x0d696910 0x00 02 GLIBC_2.0
     

    JAa

    Joined
    Jan 22, 2016
    Messages
    12
    Reaction score
    0
    Ok. I've worked around this topic a little, reading etc. I've made my system multi-arch now, and I installed some AMD64 packages. Than I've got back to libstdc++.so.6 itself and I have performed force install for both 32 and 64 architectures (ignoring some warnings from system about unknown and mayby uncompatybile librery versions) and finaly IT WORKED!!! Thank you very much for your time. You have been very helpfull. And this is not only about game. This Ubuntu I am working on is going to be platform for new OS. And without solving this problem with starmade it is possible that many other things would never be able to work on this OS. + this was first time when I realised that 32bit only arch might be problem (since Linux can use any amount of RAM no matter 32 or 64, for example I have 4GiB ram and had 32bit Linux it will still see full 4GiB when 32bit Windows 7 see 3,5GiB only). Whatever, problem is solved.:)
     
    Joined
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages
    6
    Reaction score
    0
    • Purchased!
    Great to hear that you where able to work through the issue