A guide to fixing broken/corrupted worlds!!!

    Discussion in 'Game Support' started by Thadius Faran, Feb 6, 2016.

    1. Thadius Faran

      Thadius Faran #1 Top Forum Poster & Raiben Jackpot Winner

      Joined:
      Oct 13, 2013
      Messages:
      4,779
      So you have an awesome world in singleplayer where you're building tons of stuff and suddenly the next time you go to load your world it freezes on connecting or synchronizing! What do you do? Here's what you need to do to get your world working again!



      1. Open your starmade folder wherever it is. (Steam by default goes to Program Files(86x)\Steam\Steamapps\Common\Starmade)

      2. Go to the server-database and enter your worlds folder.

      3. Now delete the chatchannels.tag file

      4. Open Starmade and enjoy your world again!!!
       
      • Informative Informative x 1
    2. AndyP

      AndyP Customer Experience Manager

      Joined:
      Aug 15, 2013
      Messages:
      1,125
      In theory, that works, but ONLY if the log.txt.0 contains in the last lines exactly this:

      Code (Text):
      [2016-02-04 19:20:17] Exception in thread "ServerThread"
      [2016-02-04 19:20:17] java.lang.NullPointerException
      [2016-02-04 19:20:17]     at obfuscated.UK.fromTagStructure(SourceFile:590)
      [2016-02-04 19:20:17]     at obfuscated.UK.<init>(SourceFile:63)
      [2016-02-04 19:20:17]     at obfuscated.ape.<init>(SourceFile:344)
      [2016-02-04 19:20:17]     at obfuscated.Pw.run(SourceFile:1159)
      [2016-02-04 19:20:17]     at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
      On any other type of corruption, this does not help.

      - Andy
       
      • Informative Informative x 3
      • Useful Useful x 1
    3. Warprider

      Joined:
      Nov 29, 2013
      Messages:
      85
      Definitely bookmarking this in case I have that issue!
       
    4. Thadius Faran

      Thadius Faran #1 Top Forum Poster & Raiben Jackpot Winner

      Joined:
      Oct 13, 2013
      Messages:
      4,779
      Is now in video form!
       
    5. alterintel

      alterintel moderator

      Joined:
      May 24, 2015
      Messages:
      779
      I just had a similar situation where I was getting stuck on a "StarMade Connector" window, and the game would never load. I tried the above method and it didn't work.

      There was a problem with my computer going to sleep while the game was running.

      How I fixed it:
      logged into the world with a different user name. Then I logged back in with my user name.

      Hope this helps somebody else to :)
       
    Loading...