Tempest's Idea Dump: "Soft Kill" HP System/Shatter Effect

Reaction score
    I've been thinking about an alternative HP system, basically you grind a ship down until it becomes effectively useless. This idea revolves around an exponential loss in system effectiveness, assuming we define a "system" as the amount of energy gen or stores/shield gens or capacitors/weapon blocks you have on your ship.

Say your ship has 100 energy generator blocks that have a generating power of 1000e/s combined (yes I know the math is off), you lose 1 to enemy fire, bringing the overall effectiveness of the system down, to roughly 99%, you loose 4 more, 90%, from there the loss in system efficiency or functionality increases exponentially until you reach a point where the system is "disabled", i.e. having 50 generator blocks still attached to your damaged ship, but they generate no power.

The concept is hard for me to explain, partially because I'm not good with exponents, and I don't have a graph to go along with it. The example is somewhat abstract, only showing the concept, without any hard math. Also comes the unresolved problems of how to make it so a person doesn't just enter build mode mid-battle, place another generator block, and have the disabled system "reset".

The second idea is a cheap one that doesn't deserve it's own thread. The "Shatter Effect" would work a bit like punch-through and a shotgun. Basically, a projectile would hit an object, "shatter" into a number of secondary projectiles, with the damage of the original being halved and then divided between them. The secondary projectiles, while traveling through the inside of the ship, would experience high resistance from armor and extremely high resistance from shields, for balancing purposes. However, a sufficiently large projectile could shred the innards of another vessel.

As stated, both ideas are a bit abstract, feel free to give some constructive input, and help build on these ideas.

Reactions: WaffulMann