Ships function vs form

Reaction score
    NOTE: prepare for text wall... and please give feedback! I want to hear what you have to say and welcome input. But I ask that you leave silly comments to yourself such as "this is gay" "you an idiot" "your wrong and dumb" etc etc.

Hello all!

I wanted to start a little discussion here as I have seen many posts on the forums regarding the subject of how Starmade's system of building ships be it; balance issues or, the "i have to place giant blocks of power tanks to get anything" ,or "my titan can be killed by a fighter", or whatever, limits the esthetic options of ships. Particularly when said ship is a replica of another ship.

As a builder I often focus more on function than making it look "good" (which this is a completely subjective and therefore arbitrary word). However, I will concede that I don't prefer a "battle box" to fly around in and as such I do spend some time trying to make it look at least decent as far as I'm concerned.

But what I really wanted to say is that for those who complain and gripe against the boring borg cube boxes (which i will assert that this is a perfectly valid build style as the Borg do exist within the Star Trek universe and as such should not IMO be disqualified as "unoriginal" or "stupid") destroying their "beautiful" creations is that, it isn't that your ship isn't powerful, its that it lacks CONTEXT.

WTF does that mean?? Glad you asked.... What I mean is that you're basing your ship off of the "realism" of other sci-fi universes, whether it be starwars, startrek, stargate, battlestar galactica, etc etc (and of course these are all fictional and as such many, MANY of the things portrayed are made for effect rather than for realism). I feel as though we should base a ships "look" and it's effectiveness on the "reality" or in other words the CONTEXT of the game itself.