Questions and Advise on logic schematic

    takethispie

    Titan-class builder
    Joined
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages
    239
    Reaction score
    103
    • Purchased!
    • Wired for Logic
    • Legacy Citizen 9
    why aren't you guys using ANSI/IEEE standards for logic symbols ? it would be really easier to understand :/
    so you are just trying to make a weapon fire in loop when a ship enter the area and make it stop when he leaves the area ?
     

    NeonSturm

    StormMaker
    Joined
    Dec 31, 2013
    Messages
    5,110
    Reaction score
    617
    • Wired for Logic
    • Thinking Positive
    • Legacy Citizen 5
    x = number of active inputs = 0 or 1
    n = number of inputs
    Thus
    x>0 = OR
    1-x = Not (like in-game this not only works with 1 input: "multiple inputs" -> or -> not)
    10 = activation block or /button/.
    x=n = and (number of active inputs = number of inputs)
    The smiley: area trigger controllers or step ons :)

    Did you not see what I used by comparing the schema-tic to the text I've written? I made this on goggle docs which has no way to create circuit symbols :/
    And if I would have used text in the white fields, I would have had to redo scaling (was too lazy for it)
     
    Last edited:

    takethispie

    Titan-class builder
    Joined
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages
    239
    Reaction score
    103
    • Purchased!
    • Wired for Logic
    • Legacy Citizen 9
    well it's still easier to understand with real symbols ^^
    an OR is not X>1 , it's X >= 1 :)

    but I don't understand where is the difficulty x)
    let me take a few minute to make a working circuit , take screenshots and I will add pictures and explanation
     
    Last edited:

    takethispie

    Titan-class builder
    Joined
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages
    239
    Reaction score
    103
    • Purchased!
    • Wired for Logic
    • Legacy Citizen 9
    as you can see the circuit is very simple: just a XOR with a clock
    the interesting thing is that there is no in and out area, a ship can enter from any side (enter by area 1 or 2) AND also exit by any side including the side he used to enter


    here is the picture of connections:


    th eoutput is the and gate on the upper right :)
     

    NeonSturm

    StormMaker
    Joined
    Dec 31, 2013
    Messages
    5,110
    Reaction score
    617
    • Wired for Logic
    • Thinking Positive
    • Legacy Citizen 5
    The difficulty was that I just thought I can't show the direction of connections with a screenie, that I were tired and that I have no problem with investigating things written down as simple math.
    Edit a screenie is a good idea, but some peoples may use different (IEEE/something-own instead of ANSI) textures...

    Why did you not crop it on imgur after upload? It has a tool for it.
     
    Joined
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages
    2,932
    Reaction score
    460
    • Hardware Store
    here is the picture of connections:
    You do know that you can shrink the size of the Xor of yours by replacing the OR with negated inputs by a NAND?
    Both circuits in this image behave EXACTLY the same, but one has less gates.
    In your XOR, you are using the bottom circuit(the one with more gates)
     

    takethispie

    Titan-class builder
    Joined
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages
    239
    Reaction score
    103
    • Purchased!
    • Wired for Logic
    • Legacy Citizen 9
    of course I know ^^
    I made this quickly (the xor was already here) I forgot to change it :)
     
    Joined
    Feb 8, 2014
    Messages
    97
    Reaction score
    16
    • Tester
    • Legacy Citizen
    • Community Content - Bronze 1
    why aren't you guys using ANSI/IEEE standards for logic symbols ? it would be really easier to understand :/
    so you are just trying to make a weapon fire in loop when a ship enter the area and make it stop when he leaves the area ?
    That is what i'm doing, although the turnoff part will be a little tricky. If a 300 foot long ship goes through i would have to have the turn off 300 feet away or it with turn off without the repair being finished. Although i was thinking to have a turn off circuit on the other side of the station, so the ship turne around and activates it on its way out
     
    Joined
    Feb 8, 2014
    Messages
    97
    Reaction score
    16
    • Tester
    • Legacy Citizen
    • Community Content - Bronze 1
    x = number of active inputs = 0 or 1
    n = number of inputs
    Thus
    x>0 = OR
    1-x = Not (like in-game this not only works with 1 input: "multiple inputs" -> or -> not)
    10 = activation block or /button/.
    x=n = and (number of active inputs = number of inputs)
    The smiley: area trigger controllers or step ons :)

    Did you not see what I used by comparing the schema-tic to the text I've written? I made this on goggle docs which has no way to create circuit symbols :/
    And if I would have used text in the white fields, I would have had to redo scaling (was too lazy for it)
    Nope I didn't, :) so thanks for the translation.
     

    NeonSturm

    StormMaker
    Joined
    Dec 31, 2013
    Messages
    5,110
    Reaction score
    617
    • Wired for Logic
    • Thinking Positive
    • Legacy Citizen 5
    You do know that you can shrink the size of the Xor of yours by replacing the OR with negated inputs by a NAND?
    Both circuits in this image behave EXACTLY the same, but one has less gates.
    In your XOR, you are using the bottom circuit(the one with more gates)
    You can do with with another one less too (4 instead of 5 or 6). If you are happy with that you have no nice buttons for input and output.

    XOR:
    0, 0 -> 0
    0, 1 -> 1
    1, 0 -> 1
    1, 1 -> 0 !!!​

    How to get it:
    1. check if both are 0
    2. check if both are 1
    3. you want 0 if both are 0 or both are 1 thus:
    inputs A, B
    1. A, B -> or -> 000
      • or=0 if A+B=0 else or=1
    2. A, B -> and -> not -> 110
      • not=0 if A+B=1 else not=1
    3. 00-0, 11-0 -> and
      • and=0 if either is 0 -thus if A+B are equal- else 1
    with ((or, (and -> not)) ->and) you only need 4 logic blocks.

     
    Last edited:

    NeonSturm

    StormMaker
    Joined
    Dec 31, 2013
    Messages
    5,110
    Reaction score
    617
    • Wired for Logic
    • Thinking Positive
    • Legacy Citizen 5
    I just thought 6-1=5.
    At least I gave screenies this time :)

    But most times I prefer a more complex state-switch where only the last used state remains active (good for air locks with 3 states open-closed co and cc)