Owning starsystems and a (linked, kinda) better universe map.

Reaction score
    • Community Content - Bronze 1
    I think that we should be able to somehow claim an entire sun and make all the planets and things orbiting it a homebase.

This could be achieved by... flying into a star (with a shields at at least 500 capacity and 500 recharge (I'm not too good with stats so feel free to criticise and change those stats) and... going into faction, then, clicking "set starsystem home" or "claim starsystem" (non-home), which costs you one faction module. Done.

We could also have an incredible galaxy map which shows lots of stars and stuff, and has colours depending on what kind of faction own that system etc. In a special mode of server, there ARE no homebases.

So, support?

Reaction score
    • Legacy Citizen 2
    • Purchased!
    • Legacy Citizen
    Uh. Flying into a STAR? This doesn't end well. Also, very much abusable and overpowered, if everything has homebase protection.

Reaction score
    Uh. Flying into a STAR? This doesn't end well. Also, very much abusable and overpowered, if everything has homebase protection.
    K, maybe flying about the area or something, I just would love it.

so, elaborate the use of the word abusable?

Reaction score
    • Legacy Citizen
    • Purchased!
    I think if one wishes to own a star system you'd need something to claim it with, so rather than entering a star you should have to build a station and have it attempt to claim the star system. If no one contests this then you may claim the system. In your "special mode" one would have to take out the claiming base to take over the star system, or build your own station then you could try to contest ownership.

Claiming a star system should require that the base can be easily located since you are marking out your territory. So in navigation the claiming station should be listed regardless of where in the system you are (even if its 100km away or something).