New logic: activater / deactivater

    Joined
    Dec 28, 2013
    Messages
    22
    Reaction score
    38
    I would like to see a logic blocks added that set blocks they are connected to to activated or deactivated only w/o toggling them.

    Mostly I want this so you can put them on a gravity unit and have it only turn the players gravity on or off w/o the player being able to use the same logic circuit to toggle their gravity (trigger areas). But it could probably be used for other things too.
     
    • Like
    Reactions: SapioiT
    Joined
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages
    1,293
    Reaction score
    230
    • Thinking Positive
    • Community Content - Bronze 1
    • Legacy Citizen 3
    This can be done easily with a few of the existing logic blocks as explained here under 1) and 2).
     
    Joined
    Dec 28, 2013
    Messages
    22
    Reaction score
    38
    That doesn't work with blocks like gravity units. I want a block that can tell blocks like gravity units to only activate or only deactivate the gravity unit for the triggering player.
     
    • Like
    Reactions: SapioiT
    Joined
    Dec 28, 2013
    Messages
    22
    Reaction score
    38
    No, you can't turn the flip-flop off manually and you can't activate the gravity unit in a chain, but if I want others to use the same gravity unit then the flip-flop won't do it.
    [DOUBLEPOST=1431999852,1431999596][/DOUBLEPOST]I want 2 blocks; one that when it is activated on a gravity unit will turn your gravity on but wont turn it off if activated again, and the other block to be the opposite of this.
     
    • Like
    Reactions: SapioiT

    Auriga_Nexus

    Befriender of Worlds
    Joined
    Dec 23, 2014
    Messages
    110
    Reaction score
    39
    • Purchased!
    Well, part of the problem is that grav units still don't play nice with logic modules. If they were completely logic controllable things would be different.

    That being said, one way to set up seperate, mutually exclusive activator-deactivator blocks is to use an RS latch. Basically, two AND-blocks and two NOT-blocks arranged in a 2x2 square checkerboard style, and then take each block and connected it to the next block in the circle going clockwise. Then connect pulse buttons to each of the AND-block. When 1 pulse button is activated the AND- and NOT-blocks on one side will turn blue. Pressing that button again does nothing, but pressing the other button switches the signal state to the other two blocks, which remains that way no matter how many times the second button is pressed, and pressing the first button again after that switches it back to the first state.

    Basically, the RS latch does exactly what you are trying to do - it accepts 1 of two inputs, changes its state to reflect the last input received, and retains that state until a different input is accepted. In other words logic like this is possible with a mere 6 blocks, it just doesn't work with gravity modules because reasons.
     
    • Like
    Reactions: SapioiT
    Joined
    Dec 28, 2013
    Messages
    22
    Reaction score
    38
    Except that's not what I'm trying to do and that still won't work with multiple players trying to use the same gravity unit.
     
    • Like
    Reactions: SapioiT
    Joined
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages
    196
    Reaction score
    14
    Except that's not what I'm trying to do and that still won't work with multiple players trying to use the same gravity unit.
    Than maybe the problem is with the gravity unit, which activated by logic won't trap in every single player in the range of the gravity unit (like it would be an area trigger).

    Well, part of the problem is that grav units still don't play nice with logic modules. If they were completely logic controllable things would be different.

    That being said, one way to set up seperate, mutually exclusive activator-deactivator blocks is to use an RS latch. Basically, two AND-blocks and two NOT-blocks arranged in a 2x2 square checkerboard style, and then take each block and connected it to the next block in the circle going clockwise. Then connect pulse buttons to each of the AND-block. When 1 pulse button is activated the AND- and NOT-blocks on one side will turn blue. Pressing that button again does nothing, but pressing the other button switches the signal state to the other two blocks, which remains that way no matter how many times the second button is pressed, and pressing the first button again after that switches it back to the first state.

    Basically, the RS latch does exactly what you are trying to do - it accepts 1 of two inputs, changes its state to reflect the last input received, and retains that state until a different input is accepted. In other words logic like this is possible with a mere 6 blocks, it just doesn't work with gravity modules because reasons.
    I didn't even knew about the existence of the RS Latch. Thanks !
     

    Auriga_Nexus

    Befriender of Worlds
    Joined
    Dec 23, 2014
    Messages
    110
    Reaction score
    39
    • Purchased!
    The good news is that with RS latches become easier with the new pulse logic buttons. Before you needed about 14 blocks, 10 of which were block chains designed to simulate a logic pulse activator. And even then, the pulse buttons would only work when you toggled the activation switch ON, meaning if the activation switch was already ON you had to toggle it OFF and then back ON to get the logic pulse.

    Now we have a 6-block setup that only requires 1 push of a button.