Mass-dependent engine sounds.

Reaction score
    • Purchased!
    • Community Content - Bronze 1
    • Legacy Citizen
    First, please check out this video and listen to the engine sounds. (Star Trek: Into Darkness spoiler warning)

Notice the deep, ominous sounds of the Vengeance and the cool whirly sound of the Enterprise. This is a great effect, and I believe that adding engine sounds to starmade would add greatly to the immersion.

My concept for this is an engine sound that is generated based on the amount of thruster blocks a ship has. A fighter could have a high pitched scream like a TIE fighter, or conventional jet engine. A titan-sized ship would have engine noise so deep it is almost pure bass.

Furthurmore, the ships' number of thruster blocks would also determine the distance from which the engine sound is audible. A tiny ship could only be heard from a few tens of meters away, and a titan could be heard two or three sectors over.

Of course I am not a programmer and I have no idea how to implement this, or if it is even possible. But hopefully it is at least an interesting concept for Schema to think about.

Reaction score
    • Purchased!
    • Legacy Citizen 2
    Sound dunt travel in space. Should only be audible from within the ship itself tbh. Still it\'s a neat idea overall.

therimmer96

The Cake Network Staff Senior button unpusher
    Reaction score
    there are already sounds that travel through space, so it doesnt really matter, and it will help add atmosphere to the game. I like this, although 2/3 sectors maybe a bit much, people with sound turned on will have a distinct advantage to those who dont as they will hear my dreadnought flying directly towards them before sensors can detect me :)

Deadlis

Le Chateau Autiste
    Reaction score
    I personally would love to see the fear in my enemies eyes when they just hear the hums of the Vengeance\'s engines from 4 sectors away. :P

Deadlis

Le Chateau Autiste
    Reaction score