Recognized Logic Wishlist

    Raisinbat

    Raging Troll
    Joined
    Dec 29, 2014
    Messages
    459
    Reaction score
    269
    So i was talking to a friend earlier and we came up with a bunch of features we'd like to see from logic. I checked the first few pages, but pardons if some of these have allready been posted:

    • Activate/Deactivate AI blocks via logic input (If you have turrets with different purposes, like short range overdrive turrets for fighter defense you don't always want those active, or you might want to time turret firings)
    • Activation block next to AI block activates when turret has a target (Mostly wanted for cosmetic stuff, but also for example retractable turrets that automatically pop in/out during combat.)
    • Activate effect modules via logic (Think this was allready planned, just listing for completion's sake
    • Condition blocks that activate only when ship meets certain conditions. (Shield <50%, velocity > 100, Power < 10%, etc. Lots of uses for this, especially combined with AI control letting you switch of turrets when ship is damaged and not enough power. Could split these into one block type for the condition type and one for threshold so you dont need to fiddle with submenus on the blocks: PowerConditionBlock, ShieldConditionBlock, SpeedConditionBlock, <10% Block, >10% Block etc.)
    Sugestions from thread:
    Also, weapon computers should output logic signal when fired. This could allow us to have rotating minigun-like barrels for guns and so on. And ship hotbar activation blocks that don't toggle but instead output logic signal as long as the button is pressed down would be also nice.
    Also lets us work in more stuff with AI operated weapons, eg. for pirate ships

    A logic activator I would love is one that activates when there's an enemy AI, for alert lights etc.
    Again this is also extremely useful for more elaborate pirate ship designs, such as launching fighters from pirate carriers
     
    Last edited:

    Mariux

    Kittenator
    Joined
    Jun 20, 2013
    Messages
    1,822
    Reaction score
    658
    • Purchased!
    • Community Content - Silver 1
    • Legacy Citizen 8
    Also, weapon computers should output logic signal when fired. This could allow us to have rotating minigun-like barrels for guns and so on. And ship hotbar activation blocks that don't toggle but instead output logic signal as long as the button is pressed down would be also nice.
     
    Joined
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages
    506
    Reaction score
    110
    A logic activator I would love is one that activates when there's an enemy AI, for alert lights etc.
     

    Rasor1911

    Abusing Stealth since the dawn of time
    Joined
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages
    22
    Reaction score
    5
    • Purchased!
    • Legacy Citizen 4
    Also, weapon computers should output logic signal when fired. This could allow us to have rotating minigun-like barrels for guns and so on. And ship hotbar activation blocks that don't toggle but instead output logic signal as long as the button is pressed down would be also nice.
    Personally on this feature, i think we should just change the activation block to only output when held down, instead of a new block.
    We would get it to toggle by simply linking it to a Flip Flop, a block which is already in the game.
     

    Ithirahad

    Arana'Aethi
    Joined
    Nov 14, 2013
    Messages
    4,150
    Reaction score
    1,329
    • Purchased!
    • Top Forum Contributor
    • Legacy Citizen 8
    Personally on this feature, i think we should just change the activation block to only output when held down, instead of a new block.
    We would get it to toggle by simply linking it to a Flip Flop, a block which is already in the game.
    Activators are already used in a lot of things in their current state, changing their functionality is a bad idea.
     
    Joined
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages
    14
    Reaction score
    9
    Can't we have signal strength implemented?
    Seems to be the answer to a whole range of logic fidelity gripes.
     

    Auriga_Nexus

    Befriender of Worlds
    Joined
    Dec 23, 2014
    Messages
    110
    Reaction score
    39
    • Purchased!
    I'd like to see more logic input-output available with factory and storage blocks. For example have factories output a pulse every time they successfully complete a production tick, or toggle an activator when they try to produce but lack materials - this would allow for things such as production timers to auto-deactivate factories after a certain amount of production cycles, so that you can do other things while factories are running without risking over-usage of materials. As for storage blocks, logic that triggers whenever a particular item is present, or that triggers when the storage block is full would be of great help to automatic storage and cargo transfer systems.

    But add this to the list because all the previous suggestions are also very useful.
     

    Raisinbat

    Raging Troll
    Joined
    Dec 29, 2014
    Messages
    459
    Reaction score
    269
    I'd like to see more logic input-output available with factory and storage blocks. For example have factories output a pulse every time they successfully complete a production tick, or toggle an activator when they try to produce but lack materials - this would allow for things such as production timers to auto-deactivate factories after a certain amount of production cycles, so that you can do other things while factories are running without risking over-usage of materials. As for storage blocks, logic that triggers whenever a particular item is present, or that triggers when the storage block is full would be of great help to automatic storage and cargo transfer systems.
    I'd like to keep the number of logic blocks in the game to a minimum; there are millions of niche logic blocks you can add that makes certain setups easier, but don't allow anything new. What you're describing can allready be done with timers and some extra inventories.

    Also, weapon computers should output logic signal when fired. This could allow us to have rotating minigun-like barrels for guns and so on. And ship hotbar activation blocks that don't toggle but instead output logic signal as long as the button is pressed down would be also nice.
    A logic activator I would love is one that activates when there's an enemy AI, for alert lights etc.
    These two are definitely useful, mind if i add them to the OP in a quote?
     

    Auriga_Nexus

    Befriender of Worlds
    Joined
    Dec 23, 2014
    Messages
    110
    Reaction score
    39
    • Purchased!
    I'd like to keep the number of logic blocks in the game to a minimum; there are millions of niche logic blocks you can add that makes certain setups easier, but don't allow anything new. What you're describing can allready be done with timers and some extra inventories.
    You misunderstand me, sir. I wasn't talking about adding new logic blocks, merely expanding the functionality of factories and storage blocks to better interface with existing logic systems. I already know how to make a binary shift register with flip flops to count up or down, and while I could set up a timer to match the factory production ticks, it's much easier just to accept a pulse and decrement a counter whenever the factory cycles. It would take some editing of existing block functionality, but would not require any new logic blocks.
     
    Joined
    Aug 14, 2013
    Messages
    2,811
    Reaction score
    960
    • Councillor 3 Gold
    • Wired for Logic
    • Top Forum Contributor
    I'd like to see more logic input-output available with factory and storage blocks. For example have factories output a pulse every time they successfully complete a production tick, or toggle an activator when they try to produce but lack materials - this would allow for things such as production timers to auto-deactivate factories after a certain amount of production cycles, so that you can do other things while factories are running without risking over-usage of materials. As for storage blocks, logic that triggers whenever a particular item is present, or that triggers when the storage block is full would be of great help to automatic storage and cargo transfer systems.

    But add this to the list because all the previous suggestions are also very useful.
    I've actually already built a smart factory system that cannot over use materials, if it runs out of any one of the materials it needs to produce an item it shuts off and flashes a light.
     
    • Like
    Reactions: JimmyJamba

    Auriga_Nexus

    Befriender of Worlds
    Joined
    Dec 23, 2014
    Messages
    110
    Reaction score
    39
    • Purchased!
    Well tie me to a starship anchor and keelhaul me to to the Moon. If you don't mind, a little additional detail on how you accomplished such a feat?
     
    Joined
    Aug 14, 2013
    Messages
    2,811
    Reaction score
    960
    • Councillor 3 Gold
    • Wired for Logic
    • Top Forum Contributor
    Well tie me to a starship anchor and keelhaul me to to the Moon. If you don't mind, a little additional detail on how you accomplished such a feat?
    Buffer chests! Chest 1 pulls the items needed for one factory cycle, chest two pulls from that, before being passed to a third chest for the factories. If chest one ever reads as empty it stops the machine. Any partial material quantities will be caught in the second chest when the next pull cycle attempts to gather the materials needed in chest one. The factories will clear out the third. You need a chest one for every material in the process but chests two and three can pull all items. My first system only used two buffer chests but with the annoying factory pull bug I had to use three to compensate.
     
    Joined
    Jun 29, 2013
    Messages
    95
    Reaction score
    3
    I think these are great ideas, but I think the hotbar is too small. I think that the hotbar should be enlarged, maybe into an extra split level so we can have all of the controls on there. We can then toggle with another button the keyboard for using the upper or lower level with the arrow keys, then still use the number keys to select the one we want to use.
     
    Joined
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages
    2,932
    Reaction score
    460
    • Hardware Store
    I think these are great ideas, but I think the hotbar is too small. I think that the hotbar should be enlarged, maybe into an extra split level so we can have all of the controls on there. We can then toggle with another button the keyboard for using the upper or lower level with the arrow keys, then still use the number keys to select the one we want to use.
    Multiple hotbars are already in the devbuild.
     
    Joined
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages
    527
    Reaction score
    109
    • Legacy Citizen 4
    • Community Content - Bronze 2
    • Purchased!
    It would be nice if rail connectors could be activated by logic. A friend of mine was just telling me how he wanted to put retractable landing gear on his ship, and have the rail connector in one of the feet.

    It wouldn't need the creation of any new logic blocks, just make it so that an activator block could turn on the beam.
     
    Joined
    Aug 14, 2013
    Messages
    2,811
    Reaction score
    960
    • Councillor 3 Gold
    • Wired for Logic
    • Top Forum Contributor
    It would be nice if rail connectors could be activated by logic. A friend of mine was just telling me how he wanted to put retractable landing gear on his ship, and have the rail connector in one of the feet.

    It wouldn't need the creation of any new logic blocks, just make it so that an activator block could turn on the beam.
    I hope this is one of the features that comes with magnetic docking.