How to make ships using blender and Smedit?

Reaction score
    • Community Content - Bronze 1
    • Legacy Citizen 4
    Realy a simple question. Also can it be done with any other 3D softwere like sketchup? I has a lot of questions but i can't seem to find a nice tutorial.

How are dimensions calculated? How is the core placed etc....

Burn me in the spawn shop if there is a sinmilar new thred

Last edited:

Edymnion

Carebear Extraordinaire!
    Reaction score
    • Purchased!
    • Thinking Positive Gold
    • Legacy Citizen 5
    Dunno, but last I saw SMEdit was abandoned and not compatible with the current version of the game anyway. But as a 3D modeler myself, it shouldn't matter what program you use as long as the file is in the correct format.

Reaction score
    • Legacy Citizen 4
    And that format would be? I'm not so fammiliar with data formats even though i have been making 3D models for a while now :/

Edymnion

Carebear Extraordinaire!
    Reaction score
    • Purchased!
    • Thinking Positive Gold
    • Legacy Citizen 5
    And that format would be? I'm not so fammiliar with data formats even though i have been making 3D models for a while now :/
    Dunno, only version of SMEdit I ever found was infected with spy/ad-ware so I never even fully installed it. Later I saw that it was abandoned and that the only way to make it work was to roll your copy of the game back to a now even more out of date version, load stuff in, then roll the game forwards again.

I would assume it imported standard .obj though.

Reaction score
    • Thinking Positive
    • Legacy Citizen 3
    You can use binvox to convert a 3D file into a voxel object. Then you can either use viewvox (from the same site) to build it manually or export it as a schematic file, which can be imported by SMEdit. But you'll probably need a very old version of StarMade that is compatible with SMEdit.

AtraUnam

Maiden of crashes
    Reaction score
    • Railman Gold