Does shipyard module orientation matter?

    Energywelder

    Director-General, EDY
    Joined
    Oct 5, 2013
    Messages
    83
    Reaction score
    22
    • Legacy Citizen 6
    • Legacy Citizen 5
    • Legacy Citizen 4
    Just a quick question, not looking for shipyard judgement. Built a couple shipyards yesterday, went to build something in them "Create a new design", the holographic ship core spawns in and immediately goes "Design too big for shipyard". Obviously it's not, i made sure the anchor is within the arms of the shipyard. It might be a server thing, idk. My first thought however is that for aesthetics reasons i rotated the shipyard modules before building them, so even though they are in the right shape, SM might be derping out on me. Thoughts?
     
    Joined
    Aug 4, 2019
    Messages
    1
    Reaction score
    0
    Well, I have the same issue. Try and try again, relogin, restart server, try again more and it will works.
     
    Joined
    Dec 7, 2014
    Messages
    18
    Reaction score
    3
    • Legacy Citizen
    I haven't used shipyards in a while, but the modules definitely did not need to be oriented a particular way. Only the shipyard anchor had a specific orientation.

    Often I find I have to move the anchor or rebuild the module arms. I tend to forget to re-link the modules to the anchor after. Maybe that is why you are seeing the error.
     

    Energywelder

    Director-General, EDY
    Joined
    Oct 5, 2013
    Messages
    83
    Reaction score
    22
    • Legacy Citizen 6
    • Legacy Citizen 5
    • Legacy Citizen 4
    I haven't used shipyards in a while, but the modules definitely did not need to be oriented a particular way. Only the shipyard anchor had a specific orientation.

    Often I find I have to move the anchor or rebuild the module arms. I tend to forget to re-link the modules to the anchor after. Maybe that is why you are seeing the error.
    Link the modules to the anchor? I thought both only had to be linked to the comp?
     
    Joined
    Dec 7, 2014
    Messages
    18
    Reaction score
    3
    • Legacy Citizen
    Link the modules to the anchor? I thought both only had to be linked to the comp?
    I think you are right. Told you I haven't used them in a while. My point was make sure that the modules ARE linked. Then again, if they weren't, I thought that either the computer or anchor threw up warnings about invalid build area or configuration, something like that.

    Oh and the distance between each module arc couldn't be more than 50 blocks apart, if I remember correctly.
     

    StormWing0

    Leads the Storm
    Joined
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages
    2,129
    Reaction score
    315
    • Community Content - Bronze 1
    Yes shipyard and core anchor orientation matters, since the arrow on anchor aims the ship and if the ship extends out of the bounds it throws that error.
     

    Energywelder

    Director-General, EDY
    Joined
    Oct 5, 2013
    Messages
    83
    Reaction score
    22
    • Legacy Citizen 6
    • Legacy Citizen 5
    • Legacy Citizen 4
    Well that's my point, modules (in arcs separated by ~24 blocks) and anchor were both linked to the comp. Nada.