Docked manufacturing?

Reaction score
    • Legacy Citizen 4
    • Community Content - Bronze 2
    • Purchased!
    I've always wanted to be able to do manufacturing on a ship. The idea being that I could produce spare parts, or replace lost fighters, without having to return to a base. I wanted to have a ship that could wander the universe and not be tied to a specific point in space; examples might include the Enterprise or BSG.

I just came up with a work-around that kind of accomplishes the goal, but I've never tried it before and am wondering if anyone here knows if it would work. The idea is to dock a platform to a station, build a small factory on the platform, and then re-dock it to my ship of choice. Whenever I wanted to use the factory, I would place a rail on the nearest planet, and dock the platform to the planet. Once I had met my production needs, I'd launch again and reattach to the ship.

Is that possible, or would I get stopped at trying to put factories on a docked entity? Thanks.

Reaction score
    • Purchased!
    • Community Content - Bronze 1
    • Legacy Citizen 10
    The docked platform = a ship, so it will stop you from placing factories on it.

Reaction score
    • Legacy Citizen 4
    • Community Content - Bronze 2
    • Purchased!
    Best approach within current limitations would be to design a minimal cost industrial platform, just bare minimum needed to get the job done and keep several filled blueprints. Drop, do what's needed and either leave it or recycle it and move on.

Reactions: Agame3

DrTarDIS

Eldrich Timelord
    Reaction score
    I tried to side-step this by making mobile asteroid bases,which works but is both slow and difficult to maneuver. Feel free to develop the technology yourself now that you know it's possible...

I agree shop/factory/shipyard/warpgate ships would be cool. I think we'll get them with the capitol ship update.

Dr. Whammy

Executive Constructologist of the United Star Axis
    Reaction score