Display Block commands

    Joined
    Jan 26, 2014
    Messages
    229
    Reaction score
    114
    • Purchased!
    • Community Content - Bronze 1
    • Legacy Citizen 3
    Displayblocks are pretty useless atm exept of noticing stuff or showing shield and powerstatus.
    Why not making it triggerable with a positive Signal from a Activator?
    To use this in a useful way, we need more Displayblock commands like

    [speed] - showing actual speed
    [playsound=mycustomsound.mp3] - to play a customsoundfile
    [colorbg=FF6666] - colorize the screenbackground
    [blink] or [blink_color=#FF6666] - to make the screen blinking
    [gravity] - to show the actual state of gravity for player or all players on ship (Gravity modules should be adjustable for that)
    [countup] or [countdown] - to count numbers and show them on screen avey time a Signal comes in
    [reset] - reset and actualize all Data on the Display

    The Display block could also work the other way around to program logics.
    tipe in [connect] and leave the displayblock, then connect the display C and V on a activator.
    The display now shows *connected*.
    to release the connection tipe [disconnect] and C and V the activator again.
    Now to program your logics, there must be some kind of orders to the displayblock right?

    [name=Activator1] - to name an connected activator
    [use=activator2] - to switch the currently programming activator
    [on] or[off] - to give a positive or negativ signal to the activator
    [status] - showing the status of current activator
    [repeat=Activator1] - to give the actual signal back to the display and it stays

    This could work like this.
    Youve got like a logic circute with one activator.
    Youve got a displayblock where you tipe in.

    [connect=Activator1] and connect it
    screen will show *connected. Do so with your other logic systems
    then write your program on the displayblock.

    The actual status first Mashine:
    [use=Activator1], [status]

    would look like:
    The actual status first Mashine
    OFF

    then go back to the displayblock and type in

    The actual status first Mashine
    [use=Activator1], [status]
    [on]

    now it looks like:
    The actual status first Mashine
    ON

    Very simple but could improve the use of Displayblocks much.
     

    jayman38

    Precentor-Primus, pro-tempore
    Joined
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages
    2,518
    Reaction score
    787
    • Purchased!
    • Thinking Positive
    • Legacy Citizen 4
    I like it. It would allow us to have custom-sounds without needing a speaker block to take up yet another BlockID.

    If logic is implemented, I'd like to see a couple more options for sound playback.
    [playsound] = play once and done
    [playloop] = play over and over
    [loopcount] = how many times the sound is played by "playloop" (maybe you only want to hear three klaxons in a row after the shields drop.)
     
    Joined
    Apr 11, 2015
    Messages
    20
    Reaction score
    7
    [gravity] - to show the actual state of gravity for player or all players on ship (Gravity modules should be adjustable for that)
    Don't think this is possible since gravity can differ between players on the same ship.
    Like, you can walk upside down on the ship while others are right side up.

    But I agree, we need many more display functions.
    The rest are pretty good, so here are some of my suggestions:

    [sector] displays current sector
    [sectorFaction] displays the factions name of current sector
    [sectorWaypoint] displays the sector of the waypoint set by the one controlling the ship (if possible)

    Connect displays to certain computers to show these stats:
    [cooldown] time on cooldown left in either seconds or percentage (or both)
    [LockOn] If the weapon is currently locked on or not (only those that can lock on)
    [hit] if the weapon hit, it shows a brief message

    [PrimWeaponName] Name of primary weapon computer
    [PrimWeaponAmount] Amount of modules
    [SecWeaponName] Name of secondary weapon computer
    [SecWeaponAmount] Amount of modules
    [TerWeaponName] Name of effect computer
    [TerWeaponAmount] Amount of modules

    Connect to a scanner to show the ships and coordinates the scanner picks up, stays until next scan.
    This would need a big screen to show everything.

    Displays should also be able to merge in one bigger screen.
     
    Joined
    Jun 20, 2013
    Messages
    293
    Reaction score
    48
    • Purchased!
    This reminds me of the days when I used plugins in minecraft to make signs do things. This is a big yes for me.
     

    jayman38

    Precentor-Primus, pro-tempore
    Joined
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages
    2,518
    Reaction score
    787
    • Purchased!
    • Thinking Positive
    • Legacy Citizen 4
    Honytawk I like your suggestions. Ideas for changes:
    [cooldowntime] Cooldown in seconds remaining (would be a cool countdown! I'd set this up all over, connected to various logic-driven systems for multiple different countdowns.)
    [cooldownpercent] Cooldown in percentage
    [WeaponName] The display will not know your primary weapon, versus your secondary weapon. You'd need to link the display block to a weapon computer to get this.
    [WeaponBlockCount] Ditto.
    [MasterName] Name of just the master part of the weapon system.
    [MasterBlockCount] Count of the blocks in the master group of the weapon system.
    [SlaveName] Name of just the slave part of the weapon system.
    [SlaveBlockCount] Count of the blocks in the slave group.
    [EffectName] Name of the effect part of the weapon system.
    [EffectBlockCount] Count of the blocks in the slave group.
     
    • Like
    Reactions: Honytawk
    Joined
    Jan 26, 2014
    Messages
    229
    Reaction score
    114
    • Purchased!
    • Community Content - Bronze 1
    • Legacy Citizen 3
    This reminds me of the days when I used plugins in minecraft to make signs do things. This is a big yes for me.
    With that Displays should connect, when they next to each other like in minecraft plugins ^^