1. 19th of July, 2019: SMD is currently under maintenance, the site may go down while we are working on it. Apologies for the inconvenience.
    2. We've removed some functionality from SMD in preparation for a migration to new forum software. We expect to make the move before July.

    Cloaked Ships are not Invisible

    Discussion in 'Game Support' started by splatthecat, Sep 2, 2018.

    1. splatthecat

      Joined:
      Jan 14, 2016
      Messages:
      401
      I don't know of it is an anomaly due to being on a build server with basic admin abilities but I built a small permanent cloak/jam ship and went to show it off.

      Despite the message coming up that both cloak and radar jammer was active I didn't "vanish"!

      However, when I Admin Loaded in an old power stealth ship this worked as intended. We even paid a visit to another player and he couldn't see us either.

      Is this a "feature" of admin enabled players to see cloaked "new power" ships or a bug?
       

      Attached Files:

      • Like Like x 1
    2. Sachys

      Sachys Hermit.

      Joined:
      Nov 30, 2015
      Messages:
      632
      Can confirm this is my experience. Also had the issue in singleplayer.
       
      • Like Like x 1
    3. splatthecat

      Joined:
      Jan 14, 2016
      Messages:
      401
      It is a bug then!
       
    4. Matt_Bradock

      Matt_Bradock The Shrink

      Joined:
      Aug 4, 2013
      Messages:
      798
      Please specify.
      - Which part didn't go? The HUD indicator or the visual?
      - Did you only check while you were in the core in build mode? The ship you're in control of will never look invisible to you. However, I did once have to blindly look around for half an hour because the server crashed while my ship was cloaked and it stayed on - and it was still invisible when I logged back on.
      When you're in the core, you'll only see your docked and turrets vanish when you turn cloak on, that's your indicator other than the status in the hotbar and on HUD.
       
    5. Sachys

      Sachys Hermit.

      Joined:
      Nov 30, 2015
      Messages:
      632
      I got out and got nothing. Tried fleet cloaking too.
      On the server Splat did the same I think, but also Had somebody else there to check and see if they were invisible or not.
      Its a definate bug!
       
    6. splatthecat

      Joined:
      Jan 14, 2016
      Messages:
      401
      Yes. I had a third party observer.

      New Power Ship: Activate Cloaking Device. Get Message on HUD to say active. Chambers set to permanent cloak. Observer could still see me.

      Old Power Ship: Activate cloaker an radar jammer. Observer could not see me. Decloaked, picked up observer and travelled to another location where another player was. Could not see ship until decloaked.

      Conclusion: Old power cloaker works, new poser cloaker does not!
       
    7. Sachys

      Sachys Hermit.

      Joined:
      Nov 30, 2015
      Messages:
      632
      Can't say Ive known many posers with jobs over the years. ;)

      Well, your testing was more thorough than mine, time to call the bug master!
       
      • Like Like x 2
    8. BillGHero

      Joined:
      Jan 17, 2014
      Messages:
      73
      I have found this issue. But it is not exactly as you have described for me.

      I have found that cloaking is possible, but it is not working as it should:

      In order for cloaking to work I have to follow these steps-
      1. Highlight the "cloaker" object in the ship's flight bar.
      2. If it isn't already in aut0-charge mode (indicated by it being highlighted) then left click to activate auto-charge mode.
      3. When the cloaker spot in the flight bar is fully highlighted, right-click it .
      Now, at this point, there will be a small green-bordered advisory that appears that says "STEALTH: 3.0: Jam: true: Cloak: true",but this is not accurate as other players can still see me and vice-versa. Even though the indication says I am cloaked I still have to do one more thing to finish cloaking, see the next step.
      4. After the green indicator saying you are Stealthed/Jammed/Cloaked appears then you must left-click one more time to actually cloak.


      This held true for Starmade on both machines in my home while each was in multiplayer. I am now going to check and see if there is a bug posted over on phab, or whatever Schine is using nowadays.

      p.s. Watch out if you log out while still in a cloaked ship! When I did this and then logged back in, I could not see my ship and had to feel-around to find the core. :(
      --- Updated post (merge), Oct 13, 2018, Original Post Date: Oct 13, 2018 ---
      There is now a new bug 'task' in phabricator about this: T3165

      Login to Phabricator
       
      • Like Like x 1
    9. Matt_Bradock

      Matt_Bradock The Shrink

      Joined:
      Aug 4, 2013
      Messages:
      798
      Yep, I confirm this too, stealth drive does not work as intended. The status signal is not reliable.
       
    Loading...