Block ID shortage solution maybe

Raisinbat

Raging Troll
    Reaction score
    Ok so there's about a 1% chance Schine hasn't thought of this and about a 99% chance i'm just too clueless to understand why this won't work, but in the spirit of unlikely scenarios i thought i'd post a suggestion on how to resolve the limited block ID's.

I'm not a real programmer though, so a large reason for me posting this is to get some insight into what I'm not understanding if it sucks, or what alternatives are more desirable. It's probably a shitty suggestion and i'm just curious. :p

• Keep a master ID list for all blocks and make it any size
    • Each entity belongs to a separate ID list limited to 256 IDs
    With several entities sharing the same ID list; for example all asteroids would belong to a single ID list as would planets, and spawning multiple copies of the same blueprint they should all belong to the same list as well.

I don't know how this will affect rendering though, or really what any of the other pitfalls are, would just like to hear some discussion on the topic, and i think it still belongs in the suggestion forum, despite its dubious value.

Ithirahad

Arana'Aethi
    Reaction score
    • Purchased!
    • Top Forum Contributor
    • Legacy Citizen 8
    If I understand your idea correctly, that means no more building bases on planets because bases would use ship blocks (Planets would use the same values for other things), and no more asteroid materials as floors because they belong to asteroids. Whut?

Raisinbat

Raging Troll
    Reaction score
    Sorry that isn't worded very well; there would be lots of lists, as you build on planet/asteroid it gets a new list with the ids of the blocks you add until you add 255 types of blocks, then it wont let you add anymore