Recognized Adjustable Rail Rotation

Reaction score
    • Community Content - Bronze 2
    • Purchased!
    • Legacy Citizen 4
    Recently I was building a X-wing and had some problems with the moving wings. After consulting the forums, I learned rails can only hold a position that is at a 45 degree interval. I came up with an idea afterwards that will solve my problem and I think others in the future as well. Before I say what it is, please note that I have no coding experience and have no idea how hard this would be to implement into the game.

My idea is to make it so rails have a menu where you can adjust the rotation of that rail. You put a number of degrees into the menu and then the rail only moves that many degrees whenever it rotates. This would allow for proper angles for cosmetic parts of ships. It would allow for angles like this to happen:

It would be a minor improvement to rail mechanics but a very welcome one. Please give feedback and leave opinions below.

EDIT: Another idea I came up with after reading replies is that instead of putting in numbers, there could be a slide that you move, and it would only allow increments of perhaps 22.5 degrees for just a little bit more flexibility, without having to complicate things by making it have to be able to rotate to every single angle.

Last edited:

Jaaskinal

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
    Reaction score
    • Legacy Citizen 4
    • Wired for Logic Gold
    • Thinking Positive
    Schema seems to like block based solutions more than menus (I think it's a phobia...)
    TBH though, I think a menu for this would be just fine. People don't seem to use rotators in massive quantities. The only complaint I have against this would be that I do have a need sometimes to change rail rotation amount on the fly, so being able to have different amounts of activators activated is very important.

nightrune

Wizard/Developer/Project Manager
    Reaction score
    • Schine
    • Top Forum Contributor
    • Thinking Positive