1. Hi, we have migrated servers and have done some backend reconfiguration. If you experience any issues, please report it in the "SMD Discussion" forum.
      Dismiss Notice

    3D Printing with Starmade [THANKS KUPU ;)]

    Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Nuclear Doughnut, Jul 4, 2016.

    1. Nuclear Doughnut

      Nuclear Doughnut A Radioactive Pastry

      Joined:
      Jul 2, 2013
      Messages:
      153
      This thread is for people to post the creations they've made in SM but actually turned them into real life models.

      For example. The EH-Barsuk

      [​IMG]

      And the SM Version

      [​IMG]
       
      • Like Like x 15
      • Creative Creative x 3
      • Useful Useful x 1
    2. Kaisaurus

      Joined:
      May 28, 2016
      Messages:
      83
      Well this is next level awesomeness !!!! :eek:
       
      • Like Like x 1
    3. Lecic

      Lecic Convicted Lancake Abuser

      Joined:
      Apr 14, 2013
      Messages:
      5,101
      FlyingDebris
      Don't you have something for this thread?

      Anyway, while this isn't exactly 3D printing, I did get the Starmade logo laser cut a while back.
      [​IMG]
       
      • Like Like x 13
      • Useful Useful x 1
    4. Nuclear Doughnut

      Nuclear Doughnut A Radioactive Pastry

      Joined:
      Jul 2, 2013
      Messages:
      153
      That's really awesome Lecic. Maybe we should rename the thread "StarMADE-IRL Version" Just a general channel for what people create outside of the game that originated here.
       
    5. The Judge

      The Judge Local Trinovan Cancer

      Joined:
      Aug 12, 2014
      Messages:
      408
      I printed some Iroquois and some Rockhoppers will post later
       
      • Like Like x 4
    6. AtraUnam

      AtraUnam Maiden of crashes

      Joined:
      Oct 15, 2013
      Messages:
      1,113
      You guys all got your amazing printers while mine only has 0.2 mm resolution and almost 0 capacity to do overhangs.
       
    7. Master_Artificer

      Master_Artificer Press F to pay respects

      Joined:
      Feb 17, 2015
      Messages:
      1,588
      Hmm, maybe I should go to shapeways...
       
    8. Nuclear Doughnut

      Nuclear Doughnut A Radioactive Pastry

      Joined:
      Jul 2, 2013
      Messages:
      153
      Atra I was breaking support strucures off this for like 30 min... mine has a .4mm nozzle so it has to be set perfectly to produce any quality
       
    9. AtraUnam

      AtraUnam Maiden of crashes

      Joined:
      Oct 15, 2013
      Messages:
      1,113
      Oh no the nozel diameter is 1.75mm, it just prints in 0.2mm layers. Anything smaller than 10cm comes out completely featureless.
       
    10. Nuclear Doughnut

      Nuclear Doughnut A Radioactive Pastry

      Joined:
      Jul 2, 2013
      Messages:
      153
      Are you sure thats not your filament size? My filament is 1.75mm. You should be able to adjust your layer height in the slicer setup. 10cm is bigger than my entire model of the EH-Barsuk.
       
    11. AtraUnam

      AtraUnam Maiden of crashes

      Joined:
      Oct 15, 2013
      Messages:
      1,113
      Hmm looks like I CAN adjust the layer height but Cura doesn't account for it properly and I end up with really thick lines where the filament spreads outwards.
       
    12. Nuclear Doughnut

      Nuclear Doughnut A Radioactive Pastry

      Joined:
      Jul 2, 2013
      Messages:
      153
      Send a screen of your settings. I can help :D
       
    13. AtraUnam

      AtraUnam Maiden of crashes

      Joined:
      Oct 15, 2013
      Messages:
      1,113
      Ok everything got sorted with a fresh install.
       
      • Like Like x 1
    14. kikaha

      Joined:
      Jul 10, 2013
      Messages:
      623
      [​IMG]
      [​IMG]
      [​IMG]

      I still need to do some tunning on my printer and the slicing soft nut i'm so happy to be able to hold the ship in my hand !
       
      • Like Like x 7
    15. EMC007

      EMC007 The guy who's always in way over his head

      Joined:
      Aug 8, 2014
      Messages:
      132
      Alright well the thread is kinda old but I can’t see a reason not to add to it.

      CA5ED7D2-C53E-49F4-9925-43AC63B6974C.jpeg
      And here’s it printed:

      8A26C9C0-F880-40D8-A134-EEECEC324B84.jpeg

      How funny is it that I also took this picture on top of graph paper just like the guy above?
       
      • Like Like x 7
    16. kikaha

      Joined:
      Jul 10, 2013
      Messages:
      623
      Graph paper is great that's why !
       
      • Like Like x 1
    17. WildRage64

      Joined:
      Jul 2, 2018
      Messages:
      37
      I know this thread is old, but how did you do it? What File software and CAD software did you use?
       
      • Like Like x 1
    18. kikaha

      Joined:
      Jul 10, 2013
      Messages:
      623
      I use cura to change the 3d file from the game (you can export your ship as a 3d model straight from the game) to a stl file et voila.
       
      • Like Like x 1
    Loading...