1. Hey Guest! We're currently translating StarMade. Anyone can translate, if you can, feel free to!
      Dismiss Notice
    2. Hey Guest! We're currently looking for new forum administrators. If this interests you, head over to this thread.
      Dismiss Notice

    Latest Reviews

    1. Brokengauge
      Brokengauge
      5/5,
      Version: 2017-04-10
      just awesome. could use some more detailing, but not bad at all considering the size limitation. It's always good to see the ol' TimberWolf, in ANY form.
    2. SNekohime
      SNekohime
      5/5,
      Version: 1.1
      Great looking exterior
    3. RabidBat
      For SMEdit in Mods
      RabidBat
      5/5,
      Version: 1.03.92a
      I have to change my review. I was a bit harsh on Bobby originally. But in fairness, this is a must have tool for importing models to BP's.
      Despite lacking in updates (not helped by Schines views on mods no doubt) I still rely heavily on it for making hulls.
    4. SNekohime
      SNekohime
      5/5,
      Version: 1.0
      I like how parts of it actually move
    5. NaStral
      NaStral
      5/5,
      Version: 1.2
      Really fun to use and immensely effective for it's size.This would be a great dueling ship.
    6. NaStral
      NaStral
      5/5,
      Version: 2015-12-07
      Even years after this was put out I still see these pop up all the time. Great little space hovel for most survival servers.
    7. Targaryen
      For SMEdit in Mods
      Targaryen
      4/5,
      Version: 1.03.92a
      I cant use it because it contantly says that it need an update! please rapair that or upload an update to the site
    8. El_Shanta
      El_Shanta
      4/5,
      Version: 0.199.535
      fairly slow to make kills but quite safe doing so, very reliable damage delivery that can shred computers & rail parts quite well in combat due to good spread of AI beam damage. Would make a solid replacement for a faction warship and sits in a very powerful & pleasant mass range for player piloting.

      Turret damage & outputs are decent but probably overly penetrative, more lateral damage using explosive outputs would help it deal more overall block damage. Ion damage could use improvement, missiles are strong but could use reload staggering for optimal block destruction, defences exceptional while shields hold, the sacrifices to armor were well thought out & fitting with the weapon loadout, perfect defensive effects for the ship.

      Highly server/client friendly, looks pretty cool to boot, I like the Astaroth especially

      would be a 5 for me, with a semi intrusive systems refit (cramming in more raw dps for a reduction in power and likely shield capacity) and modifications to turret outputs to increase block destruction & reduce total per tick power costs.

      Next to your Cottonmouth, it's probably my favorite PvP tagged ship on the dock. Very worth downloads, server side use & dismantling for study.
      1. NaStral
        Author's Response
        Thank you very much for the review. This will give me plenty of good points to work with in the future.
    9. Star-Boy
      Star-Boy
      4/5,
      Version: 0.199.535
      The shape of the hull is quite nice but it needs some detail work on the big flat areas on the front and back. I'd add more engines on the back and some sort of decorative salvage beam emitter on the front.
      1. NaStral
        Author's Response
        You are quite right about the exterior. It originally had plex door in many of the areas where it's now dark grey standard armor, which despite being somewhat minor is definitely feeling a bit lacking afterward. I'd have kept the plex door had it not been for new mechanics that made the earlier setup hazardous. I think ive got just the thing in mind for a future tweak.
    10. El_Shanta
      El_Shanta
      2/5,
      Version: 1.1
      2 slabs of wood with a little knob between them
      Turrets shoot the one in front of them
      Needs effects on the missiles, waste of time without em, Piercing or PT, but not just missile-beam. And at least some degree of protection for the computers, they get shredded almost instantly (otherwise they're actually okayish, could be turret fired but not until you go back to turret school friendo).

      The two is because it's not a complete pea shooter statistically, however poor choices lead it to being pretty junk in a fight anyway, give it defensive effects (Ion & Overdrive) and offensive effects and bam you got like a 2.5 ship. Honestly needs some more reliable dps than just player fired missiles to really be useful, but again, weapons contribution is somewhat acceptable for a missile ship with admittedly decent shields. Still would greatly benefit from more weaponisation.

      Organic theme is cool but in this case kinda lacks any interesting shape (which is what makes organic themes cool, LOTS of liberty with hull shapes!)
    11. El_Shanta
      El_Shanta
      2/5,
      Version: 2017-04-02
      Missiles are strong design wise, well tuned versus both AHP & SHP.
      Overall dps is very low for its mass, shields slightly weak though I do note it's lengthier armor phase. Performance in combat is highly reliant on landing player fired missile strikes, which can only help so much and its limited overall firepower will wither versus a faster and/or more shielded design. Explosive beam could be more rapid (or split into more seperate comps to be chained) and/or be AI based, Ion beam should be a primary not some utility, overall weapons contribution should be increased somewhat to ensure viability vs other designs in its mass class, wont punch far/at all above its weight in pvp without a large systems rebalance.

      Interior is a nice touch & doesn't hurt the vessel at all, visually pleasing both while piloting & while out of the core. Aesthetically this is a high quality ship and performs better than many dare i say most of its pretty peers, but competitively speaking it's not particularly viable, this isn't to say that's a problem with nice aesthetics at all, there is major room for improvement without aesthetic design changes.

      -What i would do to this ship in a pinch if its all i had;
      Replace explosive effect beam to be Ion effect, consolidating current ion beam into it, split missiles up across a least 2 seperate computers, remove all resulting redundant power capacity in favor of as much defensive overdrive as i can fit, if this falls under 25% ovd, i'll use shield blocks (50/50) instead. It wouldn't suddenly make it a competent duelist/survival pvp ship, but it would increase it's chances somewhat based on the systems it already has in place (in my opinion anyway)
      1. Tamren Shade
        Author's Response
        I plan on reworking the designs on all three frigates once the new power and chamber system hit. Past that, capacitors won't be needed anymore and I imagine these ships will get much nastier.......
    12. El_Shanta
      El_Shanta
      3/5,
      Version: 1.0
      highly mobile & looks very nice
      dedication to a single reliable weapon system allows it to handle many other community content ships of the same size easily.

      However DPS is fairly subpar and low granularity leads to low rates of block removal compared to what a ship of this size could potentially field, durability is low, mobility is its primary strongpoint but doesn't fire well while actively using thrust.

      A larger beam weapon & full defensive overdrive would be great and a major improvement, explosive effect instead of punch through on the beam weapon would help drastically with its low rate of block removal without increasing turret count, overall SHP dps might be diminished against heavily armored vessels & from ideal (but rarely achieved) penetration angles but not by much, emphasis on turrets might break the K.I.S.S principle but would go a long way to aid a ship of this scale to deal more dps.

      Performs adequately for dueling & survival use, not a significant threat to more specialized designs however.
      Cute looking & a clear step above most entries of its size you can find here.
      1. Vvolodymyr
        Author's Response
        Thanks So much for your in-depth test and review ! :)
    13. kayosetsu
      kayosetsu
      5/5,
      Version: 1.0
      Like all Imperial designs, this ship is still an effective and devastating craft despite being outdated. Any word on an upcoming update? New docking ports, at the very least?
    14. El_Shanta
      El_Shanta
      3/5,
      Version: 2017-04-27
      Aesthetically nice, very mean & dystopian looking, love the iconography on the side. Has some lag issues, spinners inside it should probably be deleted (whatever they are though they look pretty cool), turrets could use replacement for both collision reduction & to improve their dps, they should also be fully self powering.

      Player lock ons & cannons are mediocre at best, no matter how good you are with them the AI is better, total weapons contribution is pretty good, however uptime is bad due to being majority player fired (waiting for locks, fishing for cannon trajectories, big waste of uptime..). Not enough AI directed damage. Overall fairly slow to kill targets for its weapons count & mass rating.

      Auxilliary is vulnerable to chain reactions due to the single layer of reactors between each group, as well as only using single layer thing groups meaning splash damage will emanate from a location only a single block from another aux group for every single explosion in the event, its a guaranteed chain reaction. The extra reactors past 2m are a poor BHP buffer and very inefficient as power, looks like some kind of composite power template was used. Never useful.

      Either thrust or shield capacity should be drastically increased, you may think 79k thrusters on a ship this size, or 40m shields is sufficient, but it's more like indecisive, both could honestly be superior within the same hull with far superior damage and power efficiency, i suspect a lower mass was initially planned for (stick to these estimates as closely as possible right from the beginning).

      As has been said a bunch of times here, quite strong for a community content ship, a 5 could be said to be a fair rating because it helps those players interested in pvp or at least self defence on survival, find the most serviceable capitol ship of this (now alarmingly common) scale on the dock, which is just what this is.
      But from a pure functional perspective, it has its share of issues worth rectifying to fix this otherwise impressive vessel, or at least noting for the sake of future projects.

      tl;dr delet spinners & do power stuff better
    15. Tshara
      Tshara
      3/5,
      Version: 2017-06-11
      1. kurosawa
        Author's Response
        thank you for the review,

        You are correct in the ship is not complete or aesthetic pleasing, the last part is something that is quite hard for me, which was part of the reason for uploading :)

        The uniform look and non standard dock point is because i use templates to build with, so on purpose but it does make everything look uniform.
        ATM i prefer to build ship slightly difference, so no standard dock or white lights and grey corridors, the blue/purple eerie light is on purpose but perhaps to much.

        What is missing
        - forward lounge interior
        - crew quarter interior
        - officer quarter interior
        - first and 2nd bridge interior
        - new power system (when ever that arrives)
        - docks (as you did your self)
        - extra fluff rooms, (medic, kitchin, repair...)
        - something to make it not white on the outside
        - more jazz on the hall ways and walls
        - all the stuff i forgot, you forgotten, they forgotten.

        Again thanks for the review i will defiantly go over your suggestions, it was a good help.

        The primary reason for uploading is to i have a backup of my ship, i have a tendency to remake and delete things every 5 minutes :), this will allow me a constant ship that is home grown.
    16. Snowtiger256
      Snowtiger256
      5/5,
      Version: 2017-06-18
      Impressive ship!

      I tested the weapons and did not find any power problems firing missiles, cannons and moving at the same time. As Omega said there is a high initial drain, but the ship never loses power completely, and recharges fast.
    17. Mahanian
      Mahanian
      3/5,
      Version: 2017-06-18
      The raptor’s weapons need to be improved, and a little more detail on the wings would be nice; however, this ship is agile and has a stunning interior. majQa'!

      The torpedoes drain the power of the ship when they are fired even when the ship isn’t moving; this ship depends on its manoeuvrability to survive in a combat situation, and when firing a torpedo drains all the power, this is a major problem.
      1. OmegaGame
        Author's Response
        It doesn't drain all of the power. Just the majority of it to maximize lethality. You would have no issue firing the missiles and moving forward and firing cannons as 5%-10% of the power still remains and recharges fast even while using the cannons immediately afterward. I tested this dozens of times without issue. I suspect you did not however
    18. Chckn Wildstyle
      Chckn Wildstyle
      5/5,
      Version: sir
      Beautiful use of slabs, this is by far one of the prettiest small ships I have seen.
      1. Maranello
        Author's Response
        Thank you for your review, mr.man :))
    19. Chckn Wildstyle
      Chckn Wildstyle
      3/5,
      Version: 1.0
      The onboard weapons/systems are okay for freighter, so I won't knock that, but the overall storage capacity is put in danger by the marked lack of large turrets to protect it. There is also not enough turret coverage of all sides of the ship.

      You can do well in the ship, though don't expect anything spectacular when it comes to defense.

      I would suggest taking the mass that is in the drones and putting it in larger turrets whilst also putting more turrets on the bottom.

      I'd give it a 6/10, which I guess is 3/5, but is a little more than average. Like from a 0-10 system I think it is slightly over average at 5 which would be a 6.
      1. Jarraff
        Author's Response
        Thanks for the constructive criticism. I might have to try a variant with a large turret on top and two underside turrets. I will have plenty of power if i switch out the overdrive on the current turrets for punch through.

        I went with the drones because I liked the look of them.
    20. Jaaskinal
      Jaaskinal
      3/5,
      Version: 2017-06-16
      It's got two planes of symmetry, which will always be my biggest gripe with any ship.

      I like the PD scrambler, but it'd work much better in a PvP setting if it were missile/cannon instead of just missiles.

      It seems like its going to be really hard to make look nice, because of fundamental problems in its shape. I will be incredibly impressed if it turns out looking good.

      "personal use only" then why put it on CC?