Warp Drive Summary for Devs

Reaction score
    • Legacy Citizen 2
    • Legacy Citizen
    Warp Drive Technology Summary for Devs

I read the entire thread at http://star-made.org/content/warp-module.

Now I will summarize, in my opinion, the solid points of it, and as a programmer myself, remove the stuff I feel is not going to happen (for programming or game reasons) so its easy for the devs to read:

1. Concept of going really fast e.g. Star Trek "Warp drive" will be considered the equivalent of "Jump drive". E.g. APPEARING somewhere really fast. Actually zooming by sectors really fast can't be done (without a lot of effort).

2. Warp drive module. Yes. Required on ships. Minimum ship mass of say 10000 for it to be usable.

3. Stargate style "Warp Gates". Yes.

Like Minecraft nether portals, Warp Gates have to be BIG ENOUGH to fit a ship that wants to use it. Gate can be "fatter long-ways" for longer journeys, each block adds 5 sectors. Up to a maximum ~25. So a circle/rectangle/other of 5 blocks thickness will warp you 25 sectors away. Mostly requires Power Tanks. In theory one power block would be enough, but would take ages to fill up the shitload of instant power it requires to do the jump. Each "warpgate block" might require 1000 power for example (or whatever). So a gate fitting in a 3Wx3HxUnknownL ship would require about 12000 instant power from batteries.

WARP GATE EXITING OPTION 1:

Warp Gates require you "connect it" to another Warp Gate within the range above. Similar to how you would connect a salvage computer to salvage cannon. The Exit Gate has to be big enough to fit the ship too, or an error message will show.

If either gate is broken or entry gate loses range required (broken block) then travel is not possible. Error shown "Exit Gate at 5,4,30 is damaged / too small!" or "Entry gate maximum distance too short!".

WARP GATE EXITING OPTION 2:

No Exit Gate. Manually enter coordinates you want to jump to (similar to Warp Drive below).