Tips and pointers requests.

Reaction score
    So I am very new to the game. I have had it for only a couple days now, but I've pumped in some hours just getting a feel for things. I am a bit slow, having a full time job does not let me spend nearly as much time as I would like...for instance, when I found Minecraft, it was a bit before the Halloween update and I was out of work. I had pretty much ignored tutorials and Youtube videos and figured many things out on my own.

Starmade is a different beast, and I really like it. I have some basics and other concepts down. I spent hours mining asteroids and selling the stuff to make a larger mining "cannon" and earned enough credits so when I found a space station, I used almost all my credits to fix it up, placed a build block and faction block on it. I have plans.

I have been watching videos, but a VERY large number of them seem to be for earlier version of the game and before there seemed to be a major shift in the way various aspects work. Like Minecraft, I will be role-playing this game heavily and learning all I can. To that end, I am setting up a kind of weapons test area to learn various weapon computer linking combinations and such.

My question, or request, is this:

I am wanting to start building larger ships.
    1) Is it a common practice to build your "innards" then create the shell and hull to make a decent looking ship?
    2) I am having difficulty understanding some principles (ie, in a video based on a previous version of the game, I see salvage cannons firing constantly, no cool-down. Doesn't matter how much power I give to the system, it stops firing for a cool-down) Are there any collection of articles, forums posts, Youtube videos aimed at (and I do not mind the title) complete newbies that is also current on the newer version of the game?

Thalanor

CEO Snataris Colonial Fleetyards
    Reaction score
    • Master Builder Bronze
    • Thinking Positive
    • Legacy Citizen 3