Navigating in 3d Space

Reaction score
    So One of the first things I noticed in starmade when I started playing it was how disorientating true 3D space is, Now no hate to the creators for not being able to solve this since 3d space is naturally confusing to humans since we only navigate in really 2 dimensions. One of the major factors of this confusion is not knowing which direction you are facing in respect to everything else. And that is really the important factor about navigation in general, which is where you are (position, heading, speed) relative to the destination or target. Im aware of the features built in to the game to help pilots get there bearing like the radial icon map thing and the auto orientate button which are great ideas and I feel like they are steps in the right direction. Now I am no expert in this feild but I have put some thought into it and have come up with some simple (atleast in my mind) solutions to this problem of 3d navigation in respects to starmade. they are as follows:

1) changing the color of the sector indicator icons.

The Reason for this is that when you are trying get used to using the sector system of finding out where you are, you end up having some struggle distinguishing whats the sector icon and such in the assortment of icons in that radial display or atleast in my experience.

2) Adding Airplane Style Orientation lines on to the hud.