Improvements in Game Balance

Reaction score
    • Legacy Citizen 2
    • Legacy Citizen
    I started playing just about a week ago and so far I LOVE the idea of starmade. I did come up with some suggestions though that I think would really beef-up it's awesomeness and help balance it.

1) Signs: nice and simple; I like to label things. It would be fun to move through out a ship or space station and see the areas labeled or have signs pointing you to various things. I imagin something akin to holographic letters floating above a surface with some form of emitter.

2) Door frames: The way the current doors work is pretty handy and I like that you can make it any size, however when they are open you don't know there is a door there unless you're close enough. I would like to see some type of door frame that still remains after it is opened.

3) Power Distribution Computer / Power Relays: This idea stems from improving game balance in terms of ship size. To start, just a power unit would be enough to run your ship up to a set mass / volume. Once the max is hit no matter how much power you can produce, sections of your ship will not receive power. Adding a Power distribution computer and Power relays, you can route power though out your ship. This could then allow you to dump more power into systems that might need it. On the flip side, it would mean larger ships become more expensive and at risk of losing power to whole sections if the relays are damaged.

4) Negative effects for larger systems: Once again more balancing ideas. As weapon arrays (or any system) grow larger have their power needs increase on a non-linear scale. For example you could have a huge weapons array that does massive amounts of damage, but it takes 10 times as much power then a system 3/4 the size.