Help Pirates

Reaction score
    • Legacy Citizen
    Hello, just found this game this morning and I don't know how it has eluded me for so long! It's a combination of my two favorite games (eve online and minecraft) but I have found it impossible to do really much of anything because of the pirate ships. So far I have only been on private servers but in each and every one I end up without a ship and without any credits. No matter what I do I can only get my ship to reach 50 km/h, bearly faster than the rats, but I can never out run and loose them. >.<

' my current strategy is to mine out the near by asteroids and buy every single shield modul my shop has (usually about 300-400) also tossing in as much firepower and energy I can afford and coating it all in hull. And yet every single time I die after attracting 20-30 rats. I am brand new to this game so if there is anyone who could maybe tell me what I'm doing wrong that would be awesome!

Reaction score
    Hello and welcome!

The 50 speed limit you see you can\'t surpass on a given server - server admins set speed limits and nothing can change that, you can\'t outrun them. What you can do is build a permanently cloaked ship (you can build seriously large permacloaked ships, especially for a beginner).

Then you can fly around mining safely until you can afford a faction module, claim a station, set it as a home base and put a couple of turrets ontop of it. That way next time you encounter pirates you can just run back to your base and let it do all the work.

Or if you are feeling particularly brave and/or pirates are not particularly large, feel free to blow them up yourself, although cloaking ships are generally fairly weak.

Reaction score
    It should be at the very first shop, actually. Unless you are supremely unlucky or server is... odd.

Keep in mind the following things:

The wider your power reactor is in an axis - the more power it produces (your best bet is to expand in 3 directions)