Gravity Module Ideas

Lone_Puppy

Me, myself and I.
    Reaction score
    • Purchased!
    • Community Content - Bronze 2
    • Legacy Citizen 8
    Hi Guys,

I'm relatively new to the game and I hope this is not stepping on any toes.

I've found the gravity module great for keeping myself locked to my ships, and fun when exploring stations and ships.
    The problem I've had recently, is when building ships with docked modules. If you walk from ship to docked module, after a certain distance gravity will disengage. Another limitation I've found is when activating station gravity and you enter/exit a ship core gravity disengages.

So, I began thinking of how I would prefer the gravity module to operate.
    It occurred to me that, it would be nice if the gravity module operated similar to a switch, where it's effect was applied to specific blocks within the structure. Similar to applying a switch to a light, where you can turn it on/off and it would remain in that state.

This would provide the following abilities;
    - you would only need to apply gravity to specific blocks, e.g. the floor you walk on.
    - central control using logic/remote/whatever.
    - instant gravity upon entry to a vessel, structure, whatever.
    - gravity could always be on in your structure.
    - conduct interesting gravity based experiments, weapons, traps, etc.

Other handy features to include would be power module dependency. No power, no gravity or perhaps a default gravity field strength. Perhaps in number of connected blocks. Also, could apply gravity field strength based on energy supply and blocks being effected by the module. Kind of like the rail mass expander.

Reaction score
    • Purchased!
    • Community Content - Bronze 2
    • Legacy Citizen 5
    You can already do most of this but with some limitations