Aiming cannon problem

Reaction score
    So, i've built a big main cannon for my ship with slave pulse damage and punch through effect (the idea is to get a long range, piercing and very powerful cannon. So i've built it in a chess-like pattern, AMC modules and pulse modules (obviously only AMCs shoot), all of the modules in a 50 long row, and the punch through modules at the front (see image).

Once built, i tried it with some old random turrets that i undocked from the main ship, and here comes the problem: when i shoot and i'm not "aiming" (the crosshair is white), the shots go in a straight line and drill massive holes in everything (good!), but when i'm aiming (the crosshair is green, because is one of my turrets) all the shots go to the same point, do a ton of damage (many red numbers), but not a single block is destroyed (bad!).

It's the first ship i've built in this game, so i have no experience in combat yet. Is because of using my old undocked turrets as dummies that the cannon doesn't work properly? or is it something else? what i'm doing wrong? Please, a bit of help for a newbie!

Attachments

Reaction score
    • Legacy Citizen 2
    • Purchased!
    My memory is bad. How much damage does the single AMC cannon of 50 block do?
    Also, i'm not sure what you mean by drilling massive holes in everything while not aiming...
    Make sure you fire with the right mouse button when shooting with a "shotgun" array, so that the fire is not focused on a single point. How much shields do these turrets have, exactly?

Reaction score
    What @Firrion said about right click. Left click focuses all your weapons onto one block. Right click makes them fire parallel. If you are aiming off into space and you left click, they also go parallel (as target is infinite distance away).

Reaction score