A possible compromise to the non-spherical planet issue

Mariux

Kittenator
    Reaction score
    • Purchased!
    • Community Content - Silver 1
    • Legacy Citizen 8
    Ever since I started playing Starmade, only one thing truly bothered me, and probably many others. I think you can guess what it is. Yup. The awkward-shaped disk planets. I know Schema tried to fix this, but my solution is a little outside-of-the-box. Why not to turn planets into seperate dimensions with infinite terrain, into which you get teleported into when you touch the planet's atmosphere? Maybe even with a little cutscene of your ship "entering" the atmosphere. Of course, there's a few issues.
    The first one is memory. Large and infinitely generated planets would take a lot of memory. This can be fixed by reducing the count of the planets, which is already planned anyways.
    Another issue is faction blocks. If planets were infinite, you would be able to claim it all with a single tiny cute faction module. This can be fixed by making them protect only a specific area, let's say 100x100x100. This would also encourage land warfare as planets can now be owned by multiple factions.

What do you guys think? Feedback in the comments would be greatly appreciated.

Reaction score
    Have you watched the dev q&a yet? They answered this question with double sided planets, and larger ones. It is a good idea, but please remember to do a bit more research before posting a suggestion.

Mariux

Kittenator
    Reaction score
    • Purchased!
    • Legacy Citizen 8
    I know that, but since it\'s not added yet, it can still be changed, esp. if it\'s for the better

NeonSturm

StormMaker
    Reaction score
    • Wired for Logic
    • Thinking Positive
    • Legacy Citizen 5
    Already suggested and refused. Players like them integrated into the world.

Also: warping issues for projectiles of orbital strikes, etc.