Turrets acting weird

    Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by tony942026, Mar 6, 2019.

    1. tony942026

      Joined:
      Aug 19, 2018
      Messages:
      3
      Hello all,

      I haven't played this in years so one could say i'm pretty new. I've been searching all over the internet and watching Youtube videos to see if this happens to anyone but i haven't seen it once. For starters, my turrets hit targets just fine. I haven't done extensive testing with different weapon types but cannon turrets have no issues with accuracy.

      The thing that bugs me is they will face random directions.. So if the target is 12 o-clock straight ahead, they will face anywhere from 10 o-clock to 2 o-clock. Rarely will they point directly at the target. If the target is over 1km away, they will shake violently almost as if there are two targets that they can't decide between. That's the best way i can describe it.

      To best test this i spawn 1 pirate ship with weak weapons but powerful shields and armor so that i can toy with the turret design, try new ones, and watch their behavior over a few minutes to a couple hours of time trying to take out this pirate.

      If they are mounted on a ship or station they act the same. If the target is close or far, moving or stationary, they do the same thing. From the simplest design that people use to demonstrate with just one rail docker, one cannon barrel, one cannon computer, and one bobby AI all the way to bigger designs, they all do exactly the same thing.

      Any help on this would be greatly appreciated as this is extremely frustrating. Thanks!
       
      • Like Like x 1
    2. Dr. Whammy

      Dr. Whammy Executive Constructologist of the United Star Axis

      Joined:
      Jul 22, 2014
      Messages:
      1,512
      It's a known long-standing bug. Schine has given no indication that they are going to work on it any time soon. One would hope that this gets fixed when they release the universe update. ...or hopefully, before I retire.

      Also, this bug seems to affect larger turrets more so than smaller ones; though I'm not exactly sure at what threshold this issue begins.
       
      • Like Like x 1
    3. Edymnion

      Edymnion Carebear Extraordinaire!

      Joined:
      Mar 18, 2015
      Messages:
      2,681
      It may be the same root AI bug that makes mining drones bug out, in that the AI is trying to point both the core and the output block of the array at the target.

      They are indeed redoing all of the AI as part of the universe update, but in the mean time, try putting the core in line with the barrel, not way off to the side.
       
      • Like Like x 2
    4. Scypio

      Joined:
      Sep 18, 2014
      Messages:
      540
      It's normal, it happens often and especially if the server is laggy. If you are playing solo the server IS your computer.

      Nothing we can do about it.
       
      • Like Like x 1
    5. tony942026

      Joined:
      Aug 19, 2018
      Messages:
      3
      Thank you, i thought it was something i was doing wrong. I hope it gets fixed soon.
       
    6. MrGrey1

      Joined:
      Feb 10, 2017
      Messages:
      258
      I've heard a single cannon module & pc on your beam turret will fix this issue. I haven't tested it myself but if it's really bugging you it may be worth a shot?
       
    7. tony942026

      Joined:
      Aug 19, 2018
      Messages:
      3
      I haven't used beam turrets at all, just cannon. Maybe there's something to do with that combo then? not sure but still testing
       
    8. Edymnion

      Edymnion Carebear Extraordinaire!

      Joined:
      Mar 18, 2015
      Messages:
      2,681
      This is actually not a good idea because it means the turret can't aim at a distance.

      The AI wants to aim directly at the target for the Beam to hit, but it wants to lead the shot for the cannon to it. If you have both on the turret, the AI tries to do both at the same time and you'll basically miss every shot outside of short range.
       
      • Like Like x 1
    9. MacThule

      Joined:
      Jan 31, 2015
      Messages:
      1,685
      There is also possibly an (other) issue with turrets on MP servers compared to SP. Thought it was just me until someone else complained about it on Brierie's the other day. Sometimes you build a model in SP Creative with weapon turrets and PD turrets, you can spam it all over SP on opposing factions and the turrets all behave normally (i.e. the entities use turrets to effectively destroy each other and counter missiles). Then you upload it to MP and spawn it and the PD turrets are fine but the weapon turrets won't move an inch. Not with manually adjusting their AIs, not with de-activating and re-activating their AI group in the entity list, not even with going into them and removing their AI and replacing it then setting it up. Only way to fix them seems to be to add entirely new turrets (though I haven't tried detaching them then re-attaching the original turrets).

      A little odd because it doesn't affect PD turrets, which is why I noticed when someone else started chatting about exactly the same behavior I had struggled with earlier.
       
    Loading...