Traffic Jams and Collisions

Reaction score
    Getting back into Starmade I'm sure many people have a problem with how the A.I. operate, more notably, the desire to ram into and lock onto other entities and stay there. I'm no expert in coding and handling process management, but these kinds of lock ups are going to cause several problems.

1. Processor will be wasted on stuck entities attempting to move in a direction.
    2. NPC trading will grind to a hault
    3. Drones will get stuck, asteroids won't be mined, pirates won't be engaged.
    4. NPC faction actions will halt
    5. It looks dumb

Fix actions

Out of combat Phase Shifting
    For now simply eliminate clipping unless in combat. This will allow free traversing until a better AI is developed. The goal is to ease traffic and enable a living universe. Phase shifting feels better story wise seeing ships pass through stations, planets etc rather than attempting to reproduce with whatever object that's in its way.

Ship Shields side effect, Repulse
    Adding a bubbling feature to shields may simply keep entities at a distance. I'm guessing scripting will be needed to override coordinates if this shield bump occurs. If bump -> external inertial dampeners until speed = 0, reamine until x.

Traffic routes
    At the moment I believe the AI simply heads towards the 3d point without a care in the world. Establishing highways of some sort may help for auto piloting and NPC pilots when crews become a thing. If we were to divide traffic into 4 quadrants with two variables, up/down, left/right, AI traffic could set a point and depending on if the change is positive or negative, will slightly adjust the quadrant traffic route.

Say with X,Y coordinates, Jake is heading from 0, 0 to 2, 2. Both are positive so Jake stays to the right (Lean to the X axis) of the original flight path. When returning, lean right again (Leaning to the Y Axis) because the net path change would be -2, -2.