Starmade Visualization

Reaction score
    • Competition Winner - Small Fleets
    • Legacy Citizen
    • Community Content - Bronze 1
    In this thread I want to share my first experiences with 3D exporting and also want to encourage you to
    post your own experiences!

So recently Starmade got the feature to export 3D models that can further be used by 3D editing software. So far it doesn't seem to get much attention but personally I got quite hyped when I first read about it!

I think this new option has a huge potential for the presentation of starmade content.
    So far I have very little experiences about visualizing 3D raleted content but Starmade (just as Minecraft, etc..) gives us a great way to quickly create appealing results. Since I will need this kind of knowledge for my future career anyways, this feels like a great start to dig into it.
    [doublepost=1471719960,1471719724][/doublepost]Okey,
    firstly I imported a ship into Vectorworks, a 3D editing software that I use on a daily basis. If you want to start working with .objs and such, I don't recommend this software... I just happend to learn it.
    For this test I used one of my ships made for the Fleet Contest. My plan is to create a proper Presentation of my fleet using non-ingame images. I also chose this ship since it's relatively small and has a nice silhouette :)

Here are some impressions playing with the viewing options...

...After the import, not bad!

As you can see the programm has a an error showing cans. This happens when the software is not reading the alpha channel.

The export also contains docked entities!

First rendered view.

Last edited:

Crimson-Artist

Wiki Administrator
    Reaction score
    • Video Genius
    • Competition Winner - Stations
    • Wiki Contributor Gold
    Awesome stuff! I'm was also experimenting with the new model export. Instead of vector works I used Blender. After a few days of learning I was able to make this.